Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

3rd Grade Common Core Opinion Writing

Grade Levels
Common Core Standards
W.3.1
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
2.27 MB   |   12 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Your students will write awesome Common Core Opinion letters with this lesson! The opinion genre is broken down into "kid friendly" language, with a lesson plan, step-by-step guideline for students, graphic organizer, student checklist, and even a sample you can teach from! The first minilesson teaches 3rd graders what opinions are and gives examples of opinion words and statements. The writing sample has a great two-paragraph letter complete with supportive reasons and a good conclusion sentence. You can have dynamic discussions with this lesson and even encourage peer editing, the sharing aloud of ideas, and much more. Most importantly, your students will be able to convey their opinions in their writing!

The lesson plan includes the following components:
-A lesson plan with teacher instructions
-Student Guidelines (with step-by-step instructions)
-A sample opinion letter
-A list of potential topics students may write about
-A topic sentence brainstorming activity
-A graphic organizer
-A student checklist
-An extension activity for early finishers, which is a cartoon or illustration showing characters debating or discussing the opinion topic using dialogue bubbles

This lesson plan covers the following Common Core Standards:
ELA-Literacy.W.3.1
ELA-Literacy.W.3.1a
ELA-Literacy.W.3.1b
ELA-Literacy.W.3.1c
ELA-Literacy.W.3.1d

Please note: I also sell this lesson in a 3rd grade bundle with the Common Core Narrative! Please do not purchase this product as well as the bundle, or you will be duplicating your purchase! This lesson is also quite similar to my 4th grade opinion writing lesson, so I do not suggest buying both lessons.

Thank you for stopping by my store! :)
Total Pages
12
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
1 Week

Average Ratings

3.9
Overall Quality:
3.9
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
3.9
Creativity:
3.9
Clarity:
3.9
Total:
20 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 8, 2014,  Jennifer F. said:
Very helpful for my 3rd graders!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 12, 2014,  Jose A. said:
Awesome stuff!
On  March 12, 2014Adrienne Boone answered:
Thanks so much!!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 11, 2014,  Margaret B. said:
Perfect Timing!!
On  March 12, 2014Adrienne Boone answered:
Great! I'm glad to hear that!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 8, 2014,  Buyer said:
Wonderful resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 12, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great resource for opinion writing, thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 12, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great resource! Loved using it.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 5, 2014,  Terry T. said:
Thank you. I can't wait to use it.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 11, 2013,  Laura B. said:
A great resource for teaching kids how to write opinions.
On  December 13, 2013Adrienne Boone answered:
I'm so glad you found it helpful!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 1, 2013,  Margaret F. said:
helped getting classs on track for benchmark
On  December 1, 2013Adrienne Boone answered:
I'm so glad to hear that!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 3, 2013,  Buyer said:
Helped out our Louisiana ILEAP scores!
On  October 3, 2013Adrienne Boone answered:
I'm so glad to hear your scores improved!!! That is wonderful news. :)
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  Tonya M. said:
loved it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 11, 2014,  Katie G. said:
Very helpful!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 4, 2014,  Buyer said:
Nice way to teach opinion pieces.
3.7
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  June 13, 2013WorkYourCommonCore (TpT Seller) said:
Excellent resource! Thanks!
On  June 14, 2013Adrienne Boone answered:
Thank you!!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 24, 2013,  Denise W. said:
This is a GREAT product!!! I'll be using this with my students when we return from Spring Break.
On  March 24, 2013Adrienne Boone answered:
I'm so happy to hear that. :)
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 3, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great resource for teaching opinion writing! Thank you for your time and creativity!
On  March 24, 2013Adrienne Boone answered:
Thank you so much!!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 26, 2012,  Nicole P. said:
Great resource!!!
On  November 26, 2012Adrienne Boone answered:
Thank you, Nicky!!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 24, 2012,  Buyer said:
Very happy with this!
On  November 25, 2012Adrienne Boone answered:
Thanks!! :)
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 14, 2012Greg Thomas (TpT Seller) said:
I'm not sure what that other user what referring to. I thought this lesson was awesome and my kids loved it. Thanks!!
On  January 16, 2013Adrienne Boone answered:
Oh, thanks!! So glad to hear.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.0
Total:
3.0
Overall Quality:
3.0
Accuracy:
3.0
Practicality:
3.0
Thoroughness:
3.0
Creativity:
3.0
Clarity:
On  November 3, 2012,  Vicki S. said:
I was hoping for a little more to use with my students.
On  November 5, 2012Adrienne Boone answered:
The product description explains what that the lesson entails. It's always a good thing to thoroughly read the description. :)
Teachers Pay Teachers
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

n/a
On  September 29, 2012,  Jennifer H. asked:
Does this lesson contain anything about teaching topic sentences?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  September 29, 2012Adrienne Boone answered:
Hello Jenhern,

Yes, the lesson does explain topic sentences. In the teacher instructions, it reads, "This is when I explain to my class that a topic sentence is the main idea the writer is trying to tell the reader. It explains the writer’s topic. There is more information on the topic sentence on the Student Guidelines Page (page 6)," . Later, in the student instructions, I review what the topic sentence is by saying, *The topic sentence is very important because it is the main idea of your letter and your reason for writing it. This is where you explain your topic and your opinion about this topic."
I also give an example of a topic sentence in the student sample.

I hope this information helps! :)
$4.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 3.9/4.0
 (132 Followers)
$4.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
3rd Grade Common Core Opinion Writing
3rd Grade Common Core Opinion Writing
3rd Grade Common Core Opinion Writing