Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Common Core Morning Work - Grade 2 (Unit 1) ~ A Daily ELA & Math Review

Grade Levels
Resource Types
Common Core Standards
W.2.5, L.2.2, 2.OA.A.1, 2.OA.B.2, 2.OA.C.3, 2.NBT.A.1, 2.NBT.A.2, ...
W.2.5, L.2.2, 2.OA.A.1, 2.OA.B.2, 2.OA.C.3, 2.NBT.A.1, 2.NBT.A.2, 2.NBT.A.3, 2.NBT.A.4, 2.NBT.B.5, 2.NBT.B.8, 2.MD.B.6, 2.MD.C.7, 2.MD.C.8
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
1.41 MB   |   40 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Let your second graders' morning work actually work for them to master essential Common Core English Language Arts and Math skills by the end of the year through continual daily review. This strategy produced amazing results with my second graders, because they didn't forget what they had learned.

Common Core State Standards covered include:
*ELA - W.2.5, L.2.1, L.2.2
*Math - All Grade 2 Standards as the year progresses

The Language Arts Daily Edit portion of each printable provides two sentences to be edited (using editing marks) and then rewritten correctly as edited. It is more than just a simple "Fix the Sentence" activity. The sentences are designed to practice and spiral review the ELA Common Core Standards of editing, grammar usage, capitalization, punctuation, and spelling patterns. The comprehensive daily editing increases in difficulty and becomes second-nature over time, which helps to strengthen writing abilities in all areas. The sentences are aligned with the READING STREET reading series units, but can be used effectively with any second grade language arts program.

The Math Review portion is designed to practice and spiral review ALL Second Grade Common Core Standards in a repetitive format that increases in difficulty over time, including 5 addition and/or subtraction facts on every page.

This Unit 1 packet is the first of six units. It consists of six weeks of Morning Work.

Included are:
*30 Morning Work practice pages
*Answer Keys
*Resource Background
*How to Use Common Core Morning Work
*Editing Marks poster- will serve as a constant reference for students; can be copied for each student, posted in the classroom or center, or projected as a transparency.

**Note: The original downloaded copy of this resource must be printed in color to display all necessary components.


Primary "Teach"spiration also offers these related products:

*Common Core Morning Work-Grade 2 (Units 1 - 6) ~ BUNDLE
*First Week FREEBIE to help establish the morning routine
*Common Core Morning Work-Grade 2 (Unit 2)
*Common Core Morning Work-Grade 2 (Unit 3)
*Common Core Morning Work-Grade 2 (Unit 4)
*Common Core Morning Work-Grade 2 (Unit 5)
*Common Core Morning Work-Grade 2 (Unit 6)

*Word Problems Problem-Solver Posters


CUSTOMER TIPS:
How to get TPT credit to use on future purchases:
* Please go to your My Purchases page (you may need to log in). Beside each purchase you'll see a Provide Feedback button. Simply click it and you will be taken to a page where you can give a quick rating and leave a short comment for the product. I value your feedback greatly and appreciate your patronage!

Be the first to know about my new freebies, discounts, and product launches:
* Look for the red star near the top of any page within my store and click it to become a follower. Voila! You will now receive customized email updates about this store.

Total Pages
40
Answer Key
Included
Teaching Duration
Other

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
118 ratings

Comments & Ratings

4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 29, 2013Nancy Tue (TpT Seller) said:
It's a shame they don't give A+ because that is what it should be.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 21, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great worksheets for the morning. The consistency each day helps my students build understanding of the concepts they're having difficulty with.
Thanks!
On  September 21, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
You are welcome! Thanks for the feedback.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 21, 2013,  Angela G. said:
This has become a part of our morning routine, and I see my students enjoying them as they review important concepts.
On  September 21, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
So glad it's working well for you and your students
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 10, 2013AMANDA ENSER (TpT Seller) said:
I love it! Especially the core standard above what they are doing!!
On  September 10, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
I'm so glad you like it!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 22, 2014,  Kimberly G. said:
Great for quiet work before the bell.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 20, 2014,  JULIE T. said:
Really love this product! Thanks for making my mornings easier.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Michelle H. said:
GREAT resource! So glad you took the time to create this!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
N/A
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014Jedith Exum (TpT Seller) said:
Awesome!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 25, 2014Jennifer Williams (TpT Seller) said:
So awesome!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 23, 2014,  Cindy M. said:
These are my favorite common core things that I have purchased. Thanks for all your work and sharing
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 25, 2014I Love Common Core (TpT Seller) said:
Love using this packet for intervention groups. It's easy to follow and allows for student independence.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 18, 2014Idalia Huenergardt (TpT Seller) said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 15, 2014,  Kristine M. said:
Thanks
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 30, 2014,  Una K. said:
Perfect way to get the brain going at the first bell! Well done.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 29, 2014Kind in Kinder (TpT Seller) said:
Great!
n/a
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  January 28, 2014,  Kelley H. said:
Great extra practice for my students who need a boost.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 19, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great work!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 17, 2014,  Brooke S. said:
Great!! Thanks!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 16, 2014,  Amanda R. said:
I use this morning work each morning! I love it! Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 14, 2014,  Michelle M. said:
Best common core morning work I've seen!
On  January 14, 2014Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
Wow, thanks! I'm glad you like it!
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 13, 2014Missy Russell (TpT Seller) said:
These morning work units are great! I use them for morning work and pair it with a "number of the day sheet". What I like about these morning work units is the fact that several math and language arts standards are incorporated in each sheet. It is like a mini review each day. I think that the daily grammar sentences are a nice quick practice for editing. I love the fact that this product is aligned with common core state standards and each problem is labeled with the corresponding standard.
On  January 13, 2014Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
Thanks for the feedback! I'm happy you like them! They always kept my second graders from forgetting skills they had learned.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 12, 2014,  Pamela M. said:
Great resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 10, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great stuff!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 3, 2014Sunsational in Second Grade (TpT Seller) said:
Awesome!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 3, 2014,  Buyer said:
I love this product! Thanks
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 23, 2013Jessica Leaver (TpT Seller) said:
Aligns perfectly with my Reading curriculum. Fantastic
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 14, 2013,  Buyer said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 8, 2013,  Buyer said:
Perfect routine for morning work!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 5, 2013,  Jamie S. said:
Thanks
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 17, 2013,  Buyer said:
awesome!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 17, 2013,  Buyer said:
nice
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 16, 2013,  Buyer said:
great start to my mornings! Thanks for doing the work for me.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 16, 2013,  Clarice L. said:
i loved it
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 14, 2013,  Buyer said:
This was so helpful! Thanks
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 14, 2013Jessica Burgermeister (TpT Seller) said:
These are working out very well in my classroom. Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 10, 2013,  Tiffany D. said:
My grade level team and I use these daily. We love how they are aligned to the common core. They are great to introduce new skills we haven't taught yet, but especially reviewing skills on a regular basis.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 30, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great for morning work! :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 29, 2013,  Heather M. said:
Awesome resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 27, 2013,  Estella D. said:
I love this morning work! It has made my life so much easier.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 27, 2013,  Buyer said:
thank you for these....having math and reading for morning work works!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 25, 2013,  Kelly T. said:
Wow! Skill packed and fantastic!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 22, 2013,  Buyer said:
Love it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 22, 2013,  Jacqueline M. said:
Great resource! Students are learning and they look forward to competing it everyday.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 20, 2013,  Abby R. said:
Instead of using this product for morning work, I use it for weekly homework. It's been very helpful!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 16, 2013,  Stephanie C. said:
Awesome!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 15, 2013,  Buyer said:
good job
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 14, 2013,  Buyer said:
Love it!! Thanks so much for creating this.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 13, 2013Lillian Presnell (TpT Seller) said:
Wonderful :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 12, 2013,  Phylis B. said:
Thanks so much....my students look forward to this each morning......great job!
n/a
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  October 11, 2013,  Buyer said:
good work, there was one error that my student pointed out, I am buying the next 2 units, wish I purchased the bundle.
On  October 11, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
Thank you for the feedback. Please let me know where the error is so I can fix it.
Teachers Pay Teachers
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

n/a
On  April 12, 2014,  Buyer asked:
I love how you have put this together. We are new to common core this year and was wondering how you paced them, or if you have a pacing guide for the year that I can purchase. Thank you for your time.
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  April 12, 2014Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
The ELA Daily Edit portion follows the Reading Street curriculum. At the beginning of each of my 6 units, you will find a Weekly Phonics & Grammar Skills Focus page for the Daily Edit Sentences that follow it exactly.

For the math portion, I based it pretty much on the math curriculum map used at my school. If you leave your email, I can send you the outline (map) I developed for creating my units.
n/a
On  September 14, 2013,  Buyer asked:
How many days does this cover? I see you can buy the bundle- how many weeks total is that?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  September 14, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
Each unit is 6 weeks long (30 days). The bundle is all six units covering 36 weeks in all.
n/a
On  August 1, 2013,  Carlyle T. asked:
This looks wonderful and I would love to use it in my 2nd grade classroom. Just making sure that this is for the 2013 edition of Reading Street with the first story being "The Twin Club".
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  August 2, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
I'm glad you asked. I'm sorry, but the sentences follow the older version beginning with Iris and Walter. I haven't seen the 2013 version. Are there lots of changes in order of skills?
n/a
On  July 12, 2013,  Kristine M. asked:
Can you give a specific date for when Unit 2 will be complete? The year starts in two weeks for me.
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  July 12, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
I will be uploading it today or tomorrow. Then I'm working to get the rest of the units done as soon as I can.
n/a
On  June 27, 2013,  Buyer asked:
Do you have other units to complete the year?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  June 27, 2013Primary "Teach"spiration answered:
I am currently working on them and should have them available before they would be needed. Thanks for asking, and please let me know if you have any other questions.
$7.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (331 Followers)
$7.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Common Core Morning Work - Grade 2 (Unit 1) ~ A Daily ELA
Common Core Morning Work - Grade 2 (Unit 1) ~ A Daily ELA
Common Core Morning Work - Grade 2 (Unit 1) ~ A Daily ELA
Common Core Morning Work - Grade 2 (Unit 1) ~ A Daily ELA