Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Common Core Opinion Writing for the Whole Year!

Grade Levels
Resource Types
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
3.07 MB   |   119 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

This pack is perfect if you want to infuse opinion writing step by step into your teaching all year long. It addresses Common Core Standards: WK.1, W1.1, W2.1 (...and possibly even W3.1 for third grade, depending upon the level of your students). There are 119 pages!
For more details, check my blog.

Table of Contents
Page 1 Title Page
Page 2 Common Core Standards Covered k-3
Page 3 Table of Contents
Pages 4-12 slides for Data Projector
or to use as posters during discussion
Pages 13-14 Whole group Brainstorm for Opinion topics
Pages 15 Model Frame for Opinion Writing
Pages 16-17 Opinion Writing Frame
Pages 18-19 Simple Frame for Opinion Writing...state opinion give reason
Page 20 Slide or Poster for Opinion Writing Whole group or Writing Station
Pages 21-23 Opinion Writing Prompts (blank for choice and one for choice of book)
Page 24 Opinion Writing prompt for Can I Have a Stegasaurus, Mom? Can I Please? by Lois Grambling
Page 25 Opinion Writing Prompt for I Wanna Iguana by Karen Orloft
Page 26 Opinion Writing Prompt for The Pigeon Wants a Puppy by Mo Willems
Pages 27-35 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for August (Chocloate Ice Cream)
Pages 36-44 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for September (Apples)
Pages 45-53 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for October (Pumpkin Bread or Pie)
Pages 54-62 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for November (Shopping or Jump in Leaves)
Pages 63- 71 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for December (Trampoline or New Bike)
Pages 72-80 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for January (Snowball Fight or Snowman)
Pages 81-89 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for February (Moon or to Mars)
Pages 90-98 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for March (Clover or Rainbow)
Pages 99-109 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for April (Pet Bunny or Chick)
Pages 110-118 Opinion Writing Mini Unit for May (Reading or Math)

Hope you love it!
Total Pages
119
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
Lifelong Tool

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
442 ratings

Comments & Ratings

4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014Fanatical in First Grade (TpT Seller) said:
Great!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 12, 2014Karen Graber (TpT Seller) said:
Very useful.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 7, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 4, 2014,  Buyer said:
Thanks!!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 3, 2014,  Cassie K. said:
The most helpful resource to teach this standard. I will definitely be using this each year!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 2, 2014,  Eric S. said:
Great!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 30, 2014Bloomabilities (TpT Seller) said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 28, 2014,  Buyer said:
Thanks!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 22, 2014,  Tracy S. said:
Great resource and easy to follow
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 16, 2014,  Kendra T. said:
Great resource!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 12, 2014April Payne (TpT Seller) said:
Looking for resources like this everywhere! Thank you for your hard work!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 10, 2014,  Buyer said:
:)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 8, 2014,  Susan C. said:
Your unit is great and I love how I can tie our data unit in math to our opinion unit with the questions and prompts.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 8, 2014,  Allison B. said:
Love this opinion writing packet- thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 5, 2014Sara Winters (TpT Seller) said:
Really loving the anchor charts and suggested texts! This has been a great product for me to develop the rest of my opinion unit. Thanks!
3.7
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  March 3, 2014Mindy Turner (TpT Seller) said:
chock full of goodies!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 2, 2014The Chalk (TpT Seller) said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 1, 2014,  Katie K. said:
Excited to use! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 26, 2014,  Buyer said:
Wonderful as always!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 25, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great- thank you!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 24, 2014Kristin Space (TpT Seller) said:
Thanks for sharing!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 22, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great resource - thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 21, 2014,  Buyer said:
Fantastic resource!!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 18, 2014Parr's Primary Potpourri (TpT Seller) said:
Awesome!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 17, 2014,  Stacy S. said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 17, 2014,  Joyce J. said:
Thanks so much
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 12, 2014,  Teresa S. said:
GREAT!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 12, 2014,  Laura M. said:
Love the monthly opinion prompts!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 9, 2014,  Dawn S. said:
We are having a lot of trouble remembering the characteristics of the different types of writing, these should really help! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 3, 2014,  Launa M. said:
Thanks for the ideas.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 25, 2014,  Buyer said:
very useful!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 25, 2014Ginnie Skidmore (TpT Seller) said:
Great
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 24, 2014,  Kelly G. said:
Love this!! Thank you!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 23, 2014Melissa Asher (TpT Seller) said:
Great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 21, 2014,  Valerie N. said:
These activities really help kids learn to form an opinion.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 20, 2014,  Buyer said:
Thanks so much!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 15, 2014,  Janine K. said:
Thank you
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 15, 2014,  Ann W. said:
love it
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 14, 2014Mallory Scott Packard (TpT Seller) said:
My OPINION is that this unit is awesome !
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 12, 2014,  Rosemarie K. said:
Thank you!! This is a great help!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 12, 2014,  Brandi L. said:
Exactly what I was looking for! I love how it can be used all year too! Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 9, 2014,  Tara J. said:
So helpful!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 7, 2014,  Buyer said:
Needed help with opinion writing, thanks so much!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 3, 2014,  Betsy L. said:
Great resource. This is something that I will be able to refer back to throughout the entire year. Thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 1, 2014Tara Hardink (TpT Seller) said:
This packet is perfect for our opinion unit, thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 1, 2014,  Buyer said:
The year long activities allow kids to continually work on opinion writing.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 26, 2013,  Clora S. said:
Very useful.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 16, 2013,  Kristen A. said:
Excellent resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 15, 2013,  Margaret R. said:
So cute and helpful thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 10, 2013,  Barbara H. said:
Awesome! I can't wait to get my students writing.
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

n/a
On  February 18, 2013,  Idalia B. asked:
Can you please send me the file? I have been trying to download it and the message reads the file is damaged and cannot be opened. Please help.
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  February 18, 2013FirstGradeBlueSKies answered:
Hi! I am sorry to hear you are having issues with downloading. I just downloaded it myself, so it should be working for you. You should be able to go to your purchases page at any time (there is a tab at the top of your account screen) and be able to click to download, as long as you have a current copy of adobe software on your computer. The purchases/download page recommends: If you purchased a PDF and it is after you open it, solve it this way: on a MAC or PC, install the latest version of ADOBE READER. Then, open the file with ADOBE READER. That's it. On a MAC, make sure to "Open With" ADOBE READER and NOT Preview. If it's still blurry, that's because you are still opening it with Preview.

If that doesn't solve the issue, try filling out a ticket on the "contact us" page here on TPT, unfortunately I don't have the ability to resolve downloading issues. Let me know if they cannot fix the problem and I will see what I can do and make sure you are helped! Thanks! Jennifer
n/a
On  October 31, 2012,  Kristen O. asked:
Hi!
Thank you for your wonderful and informative unit! I can't wait to use it! The only slight problem is that there are out-of-the-ordinary burred black lines on some pages. Might you be able to send me another copy of your unit in Word or another program that you might use?

Thank you!
Best,
Kristen
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  October 31, 2012FirstGradeBlueSKies answered:
Hi! I am sorry to hear you are having issues with downloading. The purchases page recommends: If you purchased a PDF and it is after you open it, solve it this way: on a MAC or PC, install the latest version of ADOBE READER. Then, open the file with ADOBE READER. That's it. On a MAC, make sure to "Open With" ADOBE READER and NOT Preview. If it's still blurry, that's because you are still opening it with Preview!

If that doesn't solve the issue, try emailing TPT at info@teacherspayteachers.com, unfortunately I haven't got the ability to resolve downloading issues. Let me know if they cannot fix the problem and I will see what I can do! Thanks! Jennifer
On  October 22, 2012Miss Hellen's Hippos (TpT Seller) asked:
I love your Opinion Writing for Common Core!! Are there Informative and Narrative Packs coming?? I would purchase those as well. This pack is so much more teacher/kid friendly than anything I have available through my curriculum. Well done!
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  October 22, 2012FirstGradeBlueSKies answered:
They are definitely on my list of things to do...I actually started one, you may have just given me the motivation to try and finish it up soon!!! Thanks so much!! =)
n/a
On  October 8, 2012,  Buyer asked:
I bought this today and it will only print 2 pages at a time. I tried this on two computers and 3 printers at work and at home and it does the same thing!
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  October 8, 2012FirstGradeBlueSKies answered:
I am sorry to hear that! On your purchases page, it gives this advice: If you purchased a PDF and it is blurry after you open it, solve it this way: on a MAC or PC, install the latest version of ADOBE READER. Then, open the file with ADOBE READER. That's it. On a MAC, make sure to "Open With" ADOBE READER and NOT Preview. If it's still blurry, that's because you are still opening it with Preview!

If those suggestions do not help, please contact customer support at: info@teacherspayteachers.com or go here and open a new ticket: http://support.teacherspayteachers.com

Unfortunately, I do not have any control over downloading or the ability to help with those issues, but the customer service link above should be able to get it fixed for you! After contacting them, if you still cannot get it fixed, let me know!! Thanks!! Jennifer
n/a
On  August 18, 2012,  Buyer asked:
Would this be too young for 5th grade?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  August 18, 2012FirstGradeBlueSKies answered:
Hi =) It may be, but depending upon the level of your kids, it might work as a beginner starting point. The best suggestion I have is to look at my blog here:
http://firstgradeblueskies.blogspot.com/2012/08/opinion-writing-for-common-core-and.html
and there you can see a detailed picture of pages included =)
Hope that helps!
Jennifer
$7.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (5,595 Followers)
$7.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Common Core Opinion Writing for the Whole Year!
Common Core Opinion Writing for the Whole Year!
Common Core Opinion Writing for the Whole Year!
Common Core Opinion Writing for the Whole Year!