Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Epic Grammar FAIL - Fun Test Prep Review Game

Grade Levels
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
Compressed Zip File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
How to unzip files.
8.37 MB   |   65 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

A fun way to get students to practice finding and fixing common grammar errors and typos. It's a great activity for back-to-school, test prep and review, holidays, the last day or week of school, or other filler days.

"Epic Grammar FAIL" is a fun, interactive way for students to review common grammar concepts. In the game, students will play in teams to find the editing / proofreading errors in real signs, song lyrics, published novels, and other random places (some of which are totally hilarious).

"Epic Grammar FAIL" is intended to be used as a competitive game show, but it could also be used for a fun full-class activity or done with partners.

This PowerPoint game has over fifty pictures or passages for students to think about, complete with hundreds of fun, interactive animations, sound clips, and navigation buttons. NOTE that there is one font you will need to install to get the game to look like the preview pictures, which only takes a few seconds.

This game is just one in a series of fun test-prep review games. Check out the others:

"Comma Invasion"
"Shootout at the Homophone Corral"
"Language Knockout"
"Catch That Word"


Or get all of them at once by purchasing "Game Show Mania - Five Fun ELA PowerPoint Review Games". This will save you $5!


All these review games are based on my Ten-Minute Grammar units:

Ten-Minute Grammar: Full-Year Curriculum

I hope your students have a blast with this. Please follow my store to get updates on new products, and don't forget to WRITE A REVIEW!

Created by Arik Durfee
Total Pages
65
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
2 hours

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
86 ratings

Comments & Ratings

4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 1, 2013Jennifer Northcutt (TpT Seller) said:
I can't wait to try this with my snarky high schoolers who are always so bored with grammar! Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 15, 2014,  Megan P. said:
Probably the most fun my kids have had all year!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 24, 2014,  Cristy T. said:
Love it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 21, 2014,  Kristin C. said:
Thank you for sharing.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 13, 2014,  Andrea C. said:
Can't wait to use this with my kiddos!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 11, 2014Collabor8 (TpT Seller) said:
There is nothing my students enjoy more than pointing out someone else's mistake. Thanks for a fabulous review product.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 5, 2014,  Victoria W. said:
This worked great for my 6th graders!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 3, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great product! I am in process of using this with a group of 5th graders for review. It's a lot of fun and quite challenging for my little remediation group! We couldn't finish it all in one session; there are many slides included.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
N/A
Accuracy:
N/A
Practicality:
N/A
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
N/A
Clarity:
On  March 2, 2014,  Buyer said:
Had fun using this on a minimum day.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 25, 2014,  Lori C. said:
I can't wait to try this with my kiddos!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 21, 2014,  Patricia H. said:
My students LOOOVED this review!!!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 17, 2014,  Tracy S. said:
Great resource! Great for a review and great for getting students to really think about what they're seeing/reading!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 9, 2014,  Edy H. said:
It's good!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 18, 2014,  Buyer said:
How fun! My 7th graders loved it!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 14, 2014Katherine Peeples (TpT Seller) said:
SO excited to use this game this week! My kids will love it.

{UPDATE} The kiddos DEFINITELY loved it! Great game. Thank you for taking the time & energy to create it.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 5, 2014,  Buyer said:
Using this as a review tool for semester English exam!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 28, 2013,  Ashley P. said:
Thrilled to use this as a final informal assessment/game. Awesome resource.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 15, 2013Ellie Kay (TpT Seller) said:
Can't wait to try it out with my 6th graders!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 3, 2013,  Julie B. said:
This is sooooo cool!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 20, 2013,  Ann S. said:
they loved it!
n/a
3.3
Total:
3.0
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.0
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.0
Clarity:
On  November 19, 2013,  Buyer said:
This will be fun to use when we need a break from the routine.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 11, 2013,  Buyer said:
Love this! Great way to make Grammar fun! :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 23, 2013,  Cathy L. said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 14, 2013,  Benjamin L. said:
My fifth graders LOVED this! They begged me to play it over and over again. Thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 18, 2013H JK (TpT Seller) said:
Fun and useful!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 1, 2013,  Michele F. said:
My students LOVE this! Thank you!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 30, 2013Melissa Garcia (TpT Seller) said:
Fun stuff! My kids loved it.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 17, 2013TeachEng (TpT Seller) said:
My kids will love this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 6, 2013,  Buyer said:
My kids really enjoyed this!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 27, 2013Nikki Norris (TpT Seller) said:
As always, his work is fantastic!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 27, 2013Nikki Norris (TpT Seller) said:
As always, his work is fantastic!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 19, 2013,  Buyer said:
Got my students begging to practice grammar.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 29, 2013,  Buyer said:
Class had a blast with this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 25, 2013,  Jami A. said:
Great! Lots of fun for my students! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 6, 2013,  Virginia C. said:
This was the coolest thing my kids have ever seen! They love to look for grammatical errors around our town and even text me images when they find them! I would love a part 2.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 25, 2013,  Beth D. said:
Thanks.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 23, 2013,  Buyer said:
Had fun with this one.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 21, 2013,  Buyer said:
Thank u can't wait to try it.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 21, 2013Kate and Company (TpT Seller) said:
The kids absolutely loved this! Thanks!
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 10, 2013Sally McSpadden (TpT Seller) said:
Fantastic game! We had a lot of fun playing and the kids still ask to play!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 20, 2013Samantha Carrick (TpT Seller) said:
Awesome product!
n/a
3.8
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 16, 2013,  Buyer said:
I think my class will enjoy this - I've been looking for a way to incorporate grammar mini-lessons into my grade seven language!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 12, 2013,  Casandra A. said:
THis was a fun review assignment. Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 11, 2013,  Daniel P. said:
Great way to end the week. Thank you
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 8, 2013,  Buyer said:
This was a perfect activity for my tutoring groups in preparation for writing testing! Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 8, 2013,  Buyer said:
Fantastic! Thanks for sharing your power points!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 5, 2013Alek Turner (TpT Seller) said:
Great!
n/a
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  February 20, 2013,  Stephanie D. said:
I can't wait to use this in class.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 16, 2013,  Patti W. said:
8th graders love this.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 9, 2013Verna Jessen (TpT Seller) said:
Thank you. This is great.
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

n/a
On  March 17, 2013,  Buyer asked:
Hi Arik, I received an email advertising "Epic Grammar FAIL - Fun Test Prep Review Game" as a free download. I was so excited because it was exactly what I was looking for at the time. However, when I got to the website it was $4.99! Bummer! Was the ad an error? Thanks, Jeanette J.
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  April 6, 2013Arik Durfee answered:
Thanks for the question. No, the ad wasn't an error. I had this product posted for free for about six months, and the it became a paid product. I often offer full paid products like this for free for a limited time only. Right now, I have a similar game show and a couple of game show templates available for free. Just go to my store and search for free items and you'll find them.
n/a
On  April 16, 2012,  Buyer asked:
Is the Simpsons video supposed to play automatically or do I have to do something to make it work? Fantastic idea!
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  April 16, 2012Arik Durfee answered:
It should play automatically. Unfortunately, PowerPoint isn't very good about retaining compatibility between different versions of the program. 2010 seems to be the most glitchy of all. So it SHOULD play automatically. If it doesn't, try clicking once. Sometimes on my school computer I have to play the slide show once and then start it over to get everything to play with the correct timing.

As a last resort, the clip is included in the download, so you could always show that separately and then skip straight to the main menu page of the PPT gameshow.

Hopefully that works for you.
n/a
On  April 15, 2012,  Holly K. asked:
My powerpoint is version 12.3.2 (111121) 2008 for Mac. Some of the ppt works but not all. The beginning series works but not the Simpsons clip, but then after a short time of staring at the monkey's hands frozen over the cash register it continues to play. I can manually click through the directions but when I get to the first categories it wont let me choose one. Any ideas of what I need to do? I've already checked for updates.
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  April 15, 2012Arik Durfee answered:
Oh, Mac. Unfortunately, I am woefully ignorant when it comes to Macs. Sadly, this one sounds like it might be a compatibility issue that I probably can't fix.

Next year, my school is going to be a one-to-one school, and the students might all be using Macs. If so, I'll finally learn how to use a Mac and I'll be able to start making products that are more Mac-friendly. Right now I'm afraid I'm just not Mac-savy enough to be able to help much.

I'm really sorry for the letdown on this download. Let me know if you find something that fixes the compatibility problem.
n/a
On  April 15, 2012,  Buyer asked:
Arik,
The computer says that this is not a valid font and won't let me download it. Will the game still work without it?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  April 15, 2012Arik Durfee answered:
The game will still work without the font; it just won't look quite the same as it does on the preview thumbnail pictures. It will mostly just affect the title page and the headings. But everything should work just fine without the font.

Another way to install the font could be to go straight to the souce where I got it. Here's the website I downloaded the font from:

http://www.dafont.com/bower-shadow.font

Hope it works for you.
Thanks.
n/a
On  April 15, 2012,  Buyer asked:
I am unable to play the game, can you direct me better?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  April 15, 2012Arik Durfee answered:
Hey there, sorry for the inconvenience.

When you download the file, it will show up as a zipped file folder. The first thing you need to do is "unzip" it. To do that, just right-click on the file folder and click "Extract All." This will create a new folder from which you can open the file.

Inside that file folder is another folder called "Bower Shadow Font." Open that folder and double-click on the font file inside. It will load up a font page, and you just need to click the "Install" button at the top.

Next, you want to open the PowerPoint file. If you use Microsoft 2003, click on the larger PowerPoint file. If you use 2007 or newer, click on the smaller file.

Once the PowerPoint file is open, just click on the "Slide Show" button. It should be at the bottom of your page.

From there on out, everything should work alright.

Let me know if that works. Thanks for the question,

Arik
$4.99
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (1,569 Followers)
$4.99
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Epic Grammar FAIL - Fun Test Prep Review Game
Epic Grammar FAIL - Fun Test Prep Review Game
Epic Grammar FAIL - Fun Test Prep Review Game
Epic Grammar FAIL - Fun Test Prep Review Game