Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Fact / Opinion Card Sort literacy center station activity hands-on

Grade Levels
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
2.85 MB   |   12 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Give your students a fun way to practice distinguishing fact and opinion. This activity can be used in literacy centers, reading stations, small group, or whole group. There are 3 different ways to use the card sort: as a simple card sort file folder center, as a memory game, or as a cut & glue hands-on activity. Two versions of cards are included: 26 full-size cards for laminating and sorting in a center, and 26 mini cards to use as a cut-and-paste activity. Each fact has a matching opinion about the same topic, and challenging examples are included such as statements that are partially fact and partially opinion, strongly held opinions, and quotations. All of the cards are illustrated in full color, as is the sorting mat. Full directions for both teacher and students are included, along with 2 answer keys--a simple version and an expanded version explaining why each statement is a fact or opinion.

The PDF file includes 12 pages in all: cover, teacher center assembly directions, student center directions, sorting mat, 3 pages of full-size cards, 1 page of mini cards, 3 pages of answer keys, and copyright statement. Make as many copies as you need for your own classroom.

If you like the activity, please leave feedback and check out my other products. I offer many materials to support literacy instruction in the upper grades, including several themed, full color file folder games. Check out the football-themed Subject and Predicate game! Keep up with all of my latest creations by following me on Teachers Pay Teachers or becoming a fan of my store on Facebook! I would also love to hear from you with any requests or feedback regarding any of my products. Feel free to email me at the address listed below.

Please do not copy this activity for an entire grade level or school. If your colleagues like the activity, please send them to Teachers Pay Teachers!

Thank You!
Anna Colley
anna.colley@gmail.com
Smarty Pants Teaching Blog
Smarty Pants Teaching Resources on Facebook

Creative Commons LicenseFact and Opinion Card Sort Activity for the Classroom by Anna M. Colley is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Total Pages
12
Answer Key
Included
Teaching Duration
N/A

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
61 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
3.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 8, 2014,  Laura O. said:
Good activity, but very small.
On  April 9, 2014Anna Colley answered:
Thank you for your feedback, Laura. Were you referring to the size of the cards themselves or the overall lesson? I strive to make sure my product descriptions are detailed and accurate so that a buyer gets no surprises when downloading. Is there something I could clarify? -Anna
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 8, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great fact and opinion practice!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 23, 2014,  ERICA C. said:
Great center!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 5, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 4, 2014,  Dalia L. said:
Great Resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 12, 2014,  Pamela M. said:
Great resource!
n/a
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 4, 2014,  Jose A. said:
This is awesome!!!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 19, 2013Marla Luna (TpT Seller) said:
Great practice and reinforcement for facts and opinions!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 8, 2013,  Patricia A. said:
Great resource for practicing and reinforcing fact/opinion. Looking forward to using it with my third graders!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 6, 2013,  Jodi K. said:
I am looking forward to using this! Great follow up activity to discussions about fact and opinion.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 16, 2013,  Christine E. said:
I had fun with this. I added some cards that related to our classroom. Very cute. I used it in an observation.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 21, 2013,  Rebecca L. said:
Great center activity for reinforcing fact/opinion! Thanks for sharing your work!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 3, 2013,  Buyer said:
Thank you!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 15, 2013Katy White (TpT Seller) said:
Used this with my fourth graders, it was a great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 5, 2013,  Jennifer M. said:
Great-excited to use this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 19, 2013,  Ann C. said:
Thanks
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 12, 2013Kelly Myers (TpT Seller) said:
Great!! Love your stuff :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 9, 2013,  Angie E. said:
thank you.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 29, 2013JEN BERSCH (TpT Seller) said:
I love this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 19, 2013,  Jane R. said:
Nice!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 5, 2013,  Dawn L. said:
Thanks for all your hard work! Another hard skill made easier!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 25, 2013,  Mary Ann M. said:
Good independent activity
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 20, 2013,  Hope C. said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 19, 2013,  Rosemary R. said:
Really love it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 10, 2013,  Elizabeth G. said:
Fun and hands on!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 5, 2013,  Buyer said:
Will be very useful.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 20, 2013danielle manasco (TpT Seller) said:
simply awesome...great resource for 3rd grade class!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 14, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great product!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 11, 2013,  Whitney B. said:
Great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 5, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great resource
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 31, 2012,  Carol C. said:
Great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 22, 2012,  Buyer said:
Great.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 5, 2012,  Tiffany M. said:
Great higher level thinking!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 1, 2012,  Buyer said:
Great resource for developing thinking and questioning skills to a higher level
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 23, 2012,  Donna S. said:
Excellent.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 8, 2012,  Laura T. said:
Great for higher order thinking and questioning.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 27, 2012Stacy Garrison (TpT Seller) said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 16, 2012,  Michelle S. said:
Very good skill practice!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 8, 2012,  Stephanie N. said:
Great activity!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 8, 2012,  Buyer said:
Great for literacy center activity and to reinforce fact and opinion. Thanks!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 7, 2012,  Buyer said:
thanks for sharing
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 12, 2012,  Buyer said:
I can't wait to use this in my classroom!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 5, 2012,  Buyer said:
Cute. I will need to get me some cardstock. thanks
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 3, 2012,  Carole B. said:
Great thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 29, 2012,  Buyer said:
Can't wait to try it at a center!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 5, 2012Sunshine in Kindergarten (TpT Seller) said:
So fun!
n/a
N/A
Total:
N/A
Overall Quality:
N/A
Accuracy:
N/A
Practicality:
N/A
Thoroughness:
N/A
Creativity:
N/A
Clarity:
On  June 5, 2012,  Buyer said:
Awesome activity.
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 22, 2012Alicia Crabtree (TpT Seller) said:
This was a very good activity. The students were very challenged by the facts and opinions and it really made them stretch their thinking. The only small difficulty is that there was not enough space for the students to use the sorting mat for all of the fact and opinion statements to fit. I adjusted by giving them fewer pieces, especially to accommodate my OCD students. Overall I was very pleased with the activity :)
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 12, 2012Erin Mull (TpT Seller) said:
Great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 2, 2012,  Bambi L. said:
Just what I needed for my reading station activity! Thank you so much.
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers


Be the first to ask Anna Colley a question about this product. Please log in to do that.

$2.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (333 Followers)
$2.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Fact / Opinion Card Sort literacy center station activity
Fact / Opinion Card Sort literacy center station activity
Fact / Opinion Card Sort literacy center station activity
Fact / Opinion Card Sort literacy center station activity