Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Johnny Appleseed Opinion Writing Printables for First and Second Grade

Grade Levels
1st, 2nd
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
9.18 MB   |   52 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Johnny Appleseed Opinion Writing for First and Second Grade

Johnny Appleseed opinion writing (persuasive writing) has been made easy with this file that scaffolds the stages of writing an opinion.

~ The activities and printables in this file are based on apples and the story of Johnny Appleseed by Reeve Lindbergh.

*** Please download the free preview file for a closer look. Or pop over to our blog (*click here*)
to see more images and implementation ideas.

Scaffold your students writing by teaching; purpose, structure, introduction, reasons and conclusion plus reflection.

Your file aims to give you supportive materials to compliment your genre writing and social studies program. This resource aims to give students a scaffolded, pragmatic approach to developing opinion writing skills.

Print off all pages and bundle as a student work book using the cover page provided. Start from the beginning by asking children what they know about Johnny Appleseed.

Discuss what facts and opinions are.

Read or watch the book, Johnny Appleseed by Reeve Lindbergh.

Use the resources in the file to discuss what an opinion is and how to orate, read and write one beginning with the introduction, reasons and conclusion.

Children will build up the skill of each part of an opinion before finally writing their own on the topics provided or one of your choosing using the empty templates.

Students are given opportunities to reflect on their writing samples at the end of the unit using the five apple rating system that you will need to model using a work sample.

Finally children receive their own achievement notice based on what they can do.



Contents:

Student booklet cover
What do you Know about Johnny Appleseed?
Johnny Appleseed Facts
Johnny Appleseed Facts
Johnny Appleseed story vocabulary
Johnny Appleseed book and video links
What is an opinion & Facts?
Sort Johnny Appleseed Facts & Opinions
Write Opinion about 2 Johnny Appleseed Facts
What is an Opinion + Example (whole class)
Purpose of an Opinion (whole class)
Opinion Topics
Parts of an Opinion Poster
Parts of an Opinion Apple Style!
Parts of an Opinion Apple Style! Paste back Together
Sheets to paste Opinion Structure (prev. page)
Parts of an Opinion Apple Style! Self-Correction page
I Love Apples! An Oral Class Exercise
Opinion Introduction – sentence starters
How to Introduce your Opinion
Opinions and Reasons
Johnny Appleseed topic – giving reasons (only)
Johnny Appleseed topic – giving reasons (only)
Johnny Appleseed – giving reasons (only)
Johnny Appleseed – giving reasons (only)
Johnny Appleseed – giving reasons (only)
The Story of Johnny Appleseed – give reasons why you liked the story
The Story of Johnny Appleseed – reasons for recommendation
The Story of Johnny Appleseed – why is it good to be generous?
Concluding my Opinion – sentence starters
Johnny Appleseed Topics for an Opinion
My Opinion: Author’s Purpose
My Opinion: Author’s Purpose
My Opinion – Hannah Goodwin
My Opinion: Johnny’s Knapsack
My Opinion: the Pioneers
My Opinion: Wilderness & Safety
My Opinion: Favorite Apple Product
My Opinion: Johnny Appleseed Street named after him
Opinion Blank Organizer/Template
Opinion Blank Organizer/Template
Opinion Blank Organizer/Template
Opinion Blank Organizer/Template
Opinion Blank Organizer/Template
My Opinion - blank template - girl
My Opinion - blank template - girl
Apple Rated Opinion (filled in) Students reflect on their work sample
Apple Rated Opinion empty
I can Write an Opinion Achievement Notice Grade One - Girl
I can Write an Opinion Achievement Notice Grade One - Boy
I can Write an Opinion Achievement Notice Grade Two - Girl
I can Write an Opinion Achievement Notice Grade Two - Boy


Designed by Clever Classroom, 2013.

For single classroom use only, a multiple user license is available at 50% of the original price.

Cloud image not included in file.


You might also like our:

Informational Writing Pumpkin Themed First and Second Grade Common Core


Fall Writing Worksheets {about Fall, Word Work and Reading Response}

Autumn Writing Worksheets {about Autumn, Word Work and Reading Response}

Total Pages
52
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
N/A

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
64 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 13, 2014,  Buyer said:
Perfect for teaching Opinion vs. Fact at the beginning of the year 2nd grade! Definitely a great way to ease back into the school year in September with Johnny Appleseed and reminding us what we already know about Fact vs. Opinion while building skills to challenge our kiddos. Great prompts and activities to do as large group or small group :)
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 24, 2014Loreen Miyoshi (TpT Seller) said:
My students really understood opinion writing through this unit! It was fun and engaging too!
On  February 24, 2014Clever Classroom answered:
Oh that is wonderful news Loreen. I am thrilled that your students understood opinion writing via this unit. Thanks so much for your feedback. Emma :)
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 19, 2014,  Brittney B. said:
Extensive amount of resources!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 15, 2013Courtney Martin (TpT Seller) said:
Perfect!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 21, 2013,  Buyer said:
This was WONDERFUL! I loved it. It made writing an opinion paragraph so easy for my second graders!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 19, 2013,  Buyer said:
This unit was a quick, easy way to introduce opinion writing. Well done and lots of resources.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 4, 2013,  Buyer said:
Very thorough packet that covers every angle needed to teach opinion write using Johnny Appleseed. Loved it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 30, 2013,  Buyer said:
Totally in love with these units. Super helpful and kid friendly.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 14, 2013Teaching for Fun (TpT Seller) said:
Before students can write, they must know something about a subject. This unit helps students build knowledge, plan their writing, and then write. Nice Job.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 12, 2013,  Rachael W. said:
Loved this! Just the right amount of structure my student's needed!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 12, 2013Primary Graffiti (TpT Seller) said:
This is an outstanding file! Thank you for such creative support for my young learners!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 29, 2013,  Buyer said:
More than what I expected on opinion writing and Johnny Appleseed! I will refer back to the posters throughout the year! I would also buy more writing themes!
On  September 29, 2013Clever Classroom answered:
Oh wow, thank you so much for your delightful feedback. I'm currently working on a pumpkin themed informational writing file and am so excited to post it some time this week. I hope your students find writing their opinions that much easier now. Thanks for stopping by. Emma :)
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 28, 2013Leah Artese (TpT Seller) said:
This packet has helped us meet our 2nd grade common core standards for opinion writing with integrated science and social studies! Awesome!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 22, 2013Neptune's Nest (TpT Seller) said:
This opinion packet aligns perfectly with my curriculum map. I cannot wait to use it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 17, 2013,  Brittany S. said:
I absolutely love this! I love how it takes the students through each step of writing an opinion piece so they learn each step and get lots of practice. I really hope you will make more books like this over different themes or different types of writing, I would buy every one!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 2, 2014,  Samantha T. said:
Really great resource for teaching opinion writing, and it was also a great supplement to learning about Johnny Appleseed!
n/a
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 1, 2014,  Alicia G. said:
thanks
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 31, 2014,  Buyer said:
Wow! Awesome
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 25, 2014Denise Kramer (TpT Seller) said:
Very easy way to teach opinions!
On  March 27, 2014Clever Classroom answered:
Thank you so much for your feedback.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 18, 2014,  Clarissa G. said:
Loved it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 5, 2014,  Sarah D. said:
I can't wait to use this with my class next year!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 11, 2013,  Buyer said:
Fit perfectly in my apple unit!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 4, 2013,  Melinda F. said:
This was fantastic!!
n/a
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 1, 2013,  Buyer said:
This was a wonderful writing practice!!!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 12, 2013,  Sabrina F. said:
Fun practice for opinion writing.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 10, 2013,  Buyer said:
Wonderful!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 5, 2013,  Brandy H. said:
I can't wait to use this unit to go along with teaching opinion writing! It looks FANTASTIC! Thanks again!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 4, 2013Casey Zent (TpT Seller) said:
Great lessons!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 2, 2013My Kinder Garden (TpT Seller) said:
Great product!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 2, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great way to teach opinion writing! Thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 1, 2013Laureen Fontaine (TpT Seller) said:
This will be great addition to our week of reading "Johnny Appleseed" in our anthologies"!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 29, 2013Second Grade Stars (TpT Seller) said:
Great writing idea!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 27, 2013,  Buyer said:
Awesome
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 26, 2013,  Buyer said:
A lot of useful opinion ideas
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 16, 2013,  Mallory C. said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 13, 2013,  Connie B. said:
Thanks! This was a fun way to introduce opinion writing.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 12, 2013Deanna Lopez (TpT Seller) said:
love it
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 12, 2013,  Karyn R. said:
Love it! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 9, 2013,  Shona G. said:
Cant wait to try these activities!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 8, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great Resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 6, 2013,  Susan P. said:
Great idea!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 4, 2013,  Buyer said:
Good stuff!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 30, 2013,  Buyer said:
Love this unit!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 30, 2013,  Buyer said:
Sensational - thank you. I top resource
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 30, 2013VIVIAN Walker (TpT Seller) said:
This looks fantastic and I'm very keen to use it! Thanks :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 29, 2013,  Jennifer D. said:
Love this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 28, 2013,  Buyer said:
Much needed! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 25, 2013,  Sarah C. said:
Great
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 25, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great unit!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 23, 2013,  Susan L. said:
Can't wait to use this with my class! Will make opinion writing so much fun.
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

On  September 16, 2013Teach With Fergy (TpT Seller) asked:
I would really like to be invited in pin on your board - ★ Educational Blogs and Blog Posts ★
Your contact me on your site wasn't working so this was the only way to get in touch. Please add me.

www.pinterest.com/teachwithfergy

Thanks.
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  September 16, 2013Clever Classroom answered:
Hi Teach With Fergy, thanks for contacting me. Could I please ask that you pop over to the board and read over the rules? If you have any questions please ask. Chat soon.

Emma :)
$7.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (6,014 Followers)
$7.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Johnny Appleseed Opinion Writing Printables for First and
Johnny Appleseed Opinion Writing Printables for First and
Johnny Appleseed Opinion Writing Printables for First and
Johnny Appleseed Opinion Writing Printables for First and