Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)

1,206 Downloads
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)
Grade Levels
Resource Types
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
1.59 MB   |   26 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

English Language Arts teachers face a multitude of challenges in their efforts to help students understand structure in literature so each can build strong academic homes. The program presented in my book, "The House of Comprehension" (HOC), offers educators a complete design that confirms the importance of every element of literature, and how each is crucial in fortifying their knowledge.

The program provides teachers with multiple opportunities that enable students to fully understand any text. Not only will teachers appreciate how to use the various charts to organize their ideas and details for their lesson, but they will also recognize which of the printable 40+ activities to use during every phase of the literature study.

By incorporating the charts and activities in this book into their plans, teachers will create engaging lessons that will address the flexibility and diversity in their classrooms. Students will recognize that the story and its elements work together to create a complete whole. Incorporating each of these factors into the study of any piece of literature enables students to explain, orally and in writing, whether the story creates a house of straw, of twigs, or of bricks.

What lessons teachers are using in the classroom and how they are adapting them to address the needs of the students as well as state and national benchmarks continues to be a hot topic. SOL scores, AYP and Standards of Learning Benchmarks are just a few of the buzz words that guide teachers’ planning. "The House of Comprehension" program allows teachers to exceed any set guidelines, and, most importantly, to engage and inspire students, turning them into lifelong learners. The activities in this book enable teachers to reach both proficient and non-¬proficient students by empowering students to advance their skill levels. When they follow this program, teachers can rest assured that their students will pass any test.

The book provides step-by-step instructions for teachers on how to use 40 activities, and includes printable activity sheets for students. Each activity is aligned to the English Language Arts Common Core Standards, as well as Bloom’s Taxonomy.

Through this practical and flexible program, students learn the importance of every element of literature. They recognize that the story and the elements create a complete whole by working together. Incorporating each of these factors into the study of any piece of literature enables students to explain, orally and in writing, whether the story creates a house of straw, of twigs, or of bricks

You can also read about this program on my site: http://teachitwrite.blogspot.com, the publishers TpT site: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Compass-Publishing/, and on the publisher's site http://www.teachitwrite.com.

Megan Trow Garcia, a Fulbright New Century Scholar, stated about in her Amazon.com review. She wrote, "Looking for an extra edge in your Language Arts classes? HOUSE OF COMPREHENSION is a "must-have" text for teaching literature in grades 6-9 and beyond."

Check out this 26-page Freebie for more information about "The House of Comprehension" and how it will enable your students to build durable comprehension homes.
Here is the publisher's TpT site:

Digital Edition: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/The-House-of-Comprehension-digital-edition-566148
Print Edition: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/The-House-of-Comprehension-print-edition-566107

Middle School ELA Lesson Plans, High School ELA Lesson Plans, Common Core ELA Lesson Plans, Bloom's Taxonomy ELA Lesson Plans, The House of Comprehension, The Elements of Literature
Total Pages
26
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
Lifelong Tool

Average Ratings

3.9
Overall Quality:
3.9
Accuracy:
3.9
Practicality:
3.9
Thoroughness:
3.8
Creativity:
3.9
Clarity:
3.9
Total:
29 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 6, 2014,  Buyer said:
Good Tool
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 2, 2013,  Philip P. said:
Can't wait to get the book!
On  October 3, 2013Connie answered:
Thank you so much. Your kind words and enthusiasm mean a great deal to me. I feel that I can safely say that you will love "The House of Comprehension," and will probably make it your go-to resource when you are planning and teaching. Enjoy.
Happy Teaching,
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 20, 2013,  Margaret H. said:
This looks fabulous! Can't wait to order the book. Thank you for sharing the preview.
On  September 16, 2013Connie answered:
Thank you so much. I realize that I am probably biased...but it is fabulous. I did use all of the activities in the classroom, tweaking them, where necessary, for the book. A Virginia college professor loved it and will be publishing it in a future issue of the Virginia English Journal. I am so thrilled. Amazon.com shows a few more reviews for it.
Connie

Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 14, 2013PaisleyPoodle (TpT Seller) said:
This is an amazing product! What a timesaver. Thank you.
On  July 15, 2013Connie answered:
Thank you so very much. I love to hear why teachers like this resource. Every time I skim through it to pull out a quote for a blog post, or to use a concept from an activity for a new one that I am creating, I feel such joy. The program with all of the planning charts and the Common Core Standards and Bloom's Taxonomy aligned activities DO save so much time. I know, because I used this method to create my plans for years. And rest assured, all of the activities have been classroom tested. Of course, under the guidance of my wonderful editor-Janis- I refined them for my colleagues still in the classroom. My publisher's page- www.teachitwrite.com- will take you to more info from the publisher. I would appreciate your telling your colleagues about "The House of Comprehension", too. Hopefully, you all will make it your planning and teaching home.
Happy Teaching,
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 30, 2013,  Buyer said:
I really like this!
On  April 30, 2013Connie answered:
Thank you so much. The book is awesome! The worksheets for the teacher will save time and be great data to show evaluators. The "Analyze This" quick evaluation to assess students' prior knowledge of the elements of fiction with its results sheet is a tremendous help to teachers and great data for evaluators.. The activities each have a detailed Teachers Notes page to help teachers figure out when, where and how to use that handout. You can order a soft cover copy or a digital copy through the publisher http://conniecasserly.weebly.com or a digital one through TpT. The publisher has a seller's account: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Compass-Publishing. Schools will get discounts for multiple copies. The Order page on the publishers website (not TpT) will give contact info:http://brigantinemedia.com/compass/?wpsc-product=the-house-of-comprehension
Thank you and Happy Teaching.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 18, 2013,  Buyer said:
.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 6, 2013Rita Hall (TpT Seller) said:
I love the index guide...I don't have to look all the way through it!!
On  July 15, 2013Connie answered:
Good morning, Rita,
Yes, I do, too. I vaguely remember writing it, but seeing it in print just makes me smile. What a time saver, and what a tool to use to meet each of your students needs. I hope that you have chosen to make The House of Comprehension your planning and teaching home.
Best,
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  February 3, 2013,  Buyer said:
Useful and imaginative.
On  July 15, 2013Connie answered:
Thank you. I hope that you find The House of Comprehension meets your planning and teaching needs.
Best,
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 11, 2013Leora Whitehill (TpT Seller) said:
Looking forward to adding this to my lessons.
On  January 22, 2013Connie answered:
Thank you for your purchase. In my opinion (and experience), this product truly forms the backbone of any literature study. Enjoy.
Best,
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 17, 2012,  Buyer said:
I like it a lot! I use many of them for the end of unit projects!
On  January 6, 2013Connie answered:
Great idea! Thank you for your purchase.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.7
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 13, 2012,  Glenette H. said:
:)
On  January 6, 2013Connie answered:
Thank you for the smile and your purchase. Enjoy.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 21, 2012Steelers Fan (TpT Seller) said:
Great book! Getting lots of uses out of it!
On  January 6, 2013Connie answered:
From one Steelers fan to another, thank you for your purchase. I love this product! It is so versatile and flexible. Enjoy.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 16, 2012,  Buyer said:
Why isn't there an A+ option? YOU ROCK!!!
On  January 6, 2013Connie answered:
Oh wow! Thank you so much. This is one of my favorite products. An educational publisher liked them, too. Thirty-five of them will be in a book, The House of Comprehension, coming out in March. They are used in a program that unites the elements of fiction, Common Core Standards and Bloom's Taxonomy so students can build durable houses of comprehension.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
3.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 3, 2012,  William K. said:
THANK YOU!
On  November 14, 2012Connie answered:
I LOVE this product. I hope you will, too.
Best,
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 18, 2012Middle School Marm (TpT Seller) said:
Great resource!
On  October 9, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you. I LOVE this product. It is so versatile, flexible and thought-provoking, and a real time- saver. Enjoy. Thank you for your purchase.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 17, 2012Rhonda Hughey (TpT Seller) said:
Wonderful resource.
On  October 9, 2012Connie answered:
I'm thrilled that you like it. I hope you find the activities versatile, flexible, engaging and real time-savers. Thank you for your purchase.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 11, 2012,  Christine D. said:
As a 6th grade language arts teacher, I found this resource exceptional. Skills are covered in a fun and engaging way. Great Work on this one!!
On  October 9, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you so much. I totally loved creating this product. My objective was to meld reading comprehension, an understanding of the importance of the elements of literature, writing, all types of thinking skills as well as speaking and language. Hopefully I did. Thank you for your purchase.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  July 5, 2012cstory (TpT Seller) said:
Thanks:)
On  July 11, 2012Connie answered:
You are welcome. I know that these worksheets will lessen your planning time and engage your students. Enjoy. Thanks for buying it.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 7, 2012Stacy Garrison (TpT Seller) said:
Great product!
On  June 19, 2012Connie answered:
I appreciate your kind words. I love this product. Thank you for buying it.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 2, 2012,  Jennifer D. said:
Yay! I love love love this product!!! I look forward to reading many juicy novels (and non-fiction, too) and using these graphic organizers. Thanks for all the hard work. You get A LOT for your money!
On  May 21, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you. I love this product, too, and had a great deal of fun creating each worksheet. It is so versatile. Enjoy. Thank you for buying it.
Best,
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 11, 2012,  Buyer said:
Relevant, meaningful independent work. Great job!
On  April 14, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you. This is one of my favorite products because it is so versatile and can be used for such a wide variety of literature and with students of all skill levels. Thank you for buying it. Enjoy.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.8
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  April 1, 2012,  Buyer said:
I can use the materials for higher and keen learners. Thanks.
On  April 4, 2012Connie answered:
I'm thrilled that you find Get R.E.A.L. useful. I love, love, love this product as the worksheets can be utilized to fit so many skill levels. Thank you for buying it. Enjoy.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 28, 2012,  Buyer said:
great purchase
On  February 28, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you. I totally love the versatility of this product and how it allows students to have fun while raising their thinking, writing and comprehension skills. Enjoy. It will serve you well.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 14, 2012,  Buyer said:
Thanks!
On  February 14, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you for buying this product. Truly, I couldn't plan units w/o it. The last few days, my Brave New World product went from 8 to 60 pages because of Get R.E.A.L. I still need to proof it before I post it. Enjoy.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 29, 2012,  Buyer said:
Good resource--thank you
On  February 2, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you; I LOVE LOVE LOVE this product. I hope that you received the revised version: 100 worksheets, 135 pages. I'm not sure what day I uploaded the revision. If you didn't, let me know and I'll send it to you for free. You'll need to send me an email address.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  January 27, 2012,  Mildred B. said:
Good Resource for the element of fiction and grammar.
On  January 27, 2012Connie answered:
Thank you. I love, love, love this product. Yesterday I finished the final draft; it's now 100 worksheets (135 pages)! You should have gotten an update; I think that gives you a chance to download the newer version. If not, let me know where I can send it to you.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  October 27, 2011,  Buyer said:
Being a sub I really really love these.
Thanks
On  October 27, 2011Connie answered:
Thank you. Once a sub myself, I truly understand the need for engaging and meaningful work for the students. As a 25+ veteran of the classroom, I created this product for the same reasons. Enjoy. I would really appreciate a super rating for this product. Currently, I am working on even more Get R.E.A.L. Worksheets.
Connie
Teachers Pay Teachers
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  October 20, 2011Patricia Huster (TpT Seller) said:
This looks like some awesome material for our next book study.
On  October 20, 2011Connie answered:
I LOVE this product because it is so versatile: it can be used with any novel or narrative non-fiction for individual study or in groups or during whole class discussions, because it explores the elements of literature from various contextual angles, and because it develops students' critical thinking skills, a factor making headlines lately. Thank you for the positive feedback. Have a great time with the handouts.
Teachers Pay Teachers
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers


Be the first to ask Connie a question about this product. Please log in to do that.

FREE
Digital Download
User Rating: 3.8/4.0
 (314 Followers)
FREE
Digital Download
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)
Language Arts: The House of Comprehension (Preview)