Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

On My Way to 1st Grade! {Kindergarten Review Practice Packet}

Grade Levels
Resource Types
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
13.28 MB   |   43 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

**revised May 2013 to include 7 more pages that cover 12 additional Common Core skills**

This 43 page packet is intended as a review exercise for kindergarteners to complete over the break, prior to entering first grade (or during the first few weeks of 1st grade). The
majority of this packet is aligned with Common Core State Standards. There are also a few introductory skills for first grade. The entire packet is in black and white- perfect for reproducing. The kids will enjoy coloring the images as well!

Skills include:
-identifying sets that show more/less
-number identification/writing
-alphabet letter writing practice
-telling time to the hour
-skip counting by 10's, 5's, 2's
-capitalization/punctuation (sentence writing)
-rearranging mixed up CVC words
-patterns
-addition story problems with manipulatives
-identifying what does not belong in a set
-abc order (letters only)
-ordering numbers before, after, in between
-beginning and ending sounds
-recognition of b's
-number words to ten
-short vowel sounds
-reading sentences with CVC and sight words
-numbers chart to 20, 50, 80, 100
-rhyming words
-syllables
-color and shape recognition
-2 D and 3 D shapes
-"fix" the sentence
-sequencing stages of a butterfly
-subtraction with manipulatives
-same beginning sounds
-measuring with non standard units (blocks)
-real vs nonsense words
-close sentences with sight words
-coin identification
-ordinal numbers to 5
-positional words
-solve addition problems to 10
-word families
-describing a frog
-one/more than one
-noun identification
-identifying correctly spelled words
-comparing sizes
-manipulating shapes to create a bigger shape
-story elements (character, setting, plot)
-90 sight words
-short story prompt
-list of recommended reading
**added 5/2013
-life cycle of a frog
-short/long vowels
-retelling of a story with details
-decomposing numbers
-representing a number in a different way
-ten frames
-greater than, less than, equal to (comparing numbers)
-solving for the missing addend
-multiple meaning words
-place value (tens/ones)
-understanding and using questions
-substituting sounds to make new words

*All of the exercises are meant to be utilized as review. All images are original except for where noted on the credits page.

I hope you find this packet useful!
Total Pages
43
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
1 Month

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
348 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great product!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 8, 2014,  Buyer said:
I use this as my summer homework for my students. Love it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 3, 2014,  Buyer said:
Love sending this on with my kinderkids for summer practice.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 2, 2014,  Dawn F. said:
Great resource. Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 31, 2014,  Sandra S. said:
Thanks for an awesome product
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 30, 2014,  Jana D. said:
Nicely done! I taught a K-1 combo class this year
and plan to send with my future 1st graders over the summer. Thank you :-)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 29, 2014,  Kim D. said:
Can't wait to use. Great way to help my sweet children prepare for first grade!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 29, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great for summer practice!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 25, 2014Marla Molvin (TpT Seller) said:
This will be a great bridge for my Kinders!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 24, 2014,  Ashley C. said:
Great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 20, 2014,  Aimee M. said:
Great Resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 17, 2014,  Sarah M. said:
Love!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 13, 2014,  Beth P. said:
This was awesome and my parents really appreciated it.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 28, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great resource!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 23, 2014Lindsey Mercier (TpT Seller) said:
This is going to be great to send home at the end of the year!!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 16, 2014,  Lynn M. said:
This was great to send home for summer review of skills to keep them fresh.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 11, 2014,  Buyer said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 6, 2014,  Colleen K. said:
Helpful!
n/a
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  February 1, 2014,  Sherilyne P. said:
great
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 28, 2014,  Kimberly G. said:
I used this at the end of the year for when students had completed their work or I needed a quick activity to complete an inventory or some other annoying end of the year task.
There are tons of activities so there was plenty left undone for students to work on over the summer!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 16, 2014,  Jill S. said:
Some of the items were great for my pre-k daughter as well as my daughter heading to 1st grade. thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 15, 2014Lauren Goins (TpT Seller) said:
great product!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 14, 2014,  Buyer said:
This was great to send off with my kiddos last year! Definitely using it agan!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 13, 2014,  Frances M. said:
Great review!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 9, 2014,  Erica J. said:
Perfect to send at the end of the year!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 7, 2014,  Buyer said:
good before school starter pack
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 5, 2014,  Jill B. said:
Bought this last year, can't wait to use it again this Spring! Thanks for the update!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 2, 2014,  Buyer said:
Love this!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 30, 2013Denise Jarrell (TpT Seller) said:
So much in this product, thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 22, 2013,  Buyer said:
Very complete! Thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 11, 2013Jeb (TpT Seller) said:
Great for the beginning the of the year for first grade!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 5, 2013,  Buyer said:
I gave this to my Kinders at the end of the year and they were so excited to do it over the summer. If they brought it back in September completed, I let them pick a prize.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 4, 2013,  Teresa H. said:
Used it over the summer and it was wonderful to keep my child busy and happy!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 2, 2013,  Erica B. said:
Nice resource for summer.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 26, 2013Alyce Milella (TpT Seller) said:
Great resource. Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 24, 2013,  Buyer said:
I send these home over the summer to help prevent "summer slide"!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 24, 2013Patricia Condon (TpT Seller) said:
Great resource! My K parents LOVED getting this for summer :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 24, 2013,  Mary P. said:
Great fun.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 20, 2013,  Callie J. said:
I'm looking forward to using this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 17, 2013,  Angela B. said:
I used this packet to help my Kindergarten class continue working all summer long. I thought it was perfect!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 17, 2013,  Holli G. said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 14, 2013,  Leanna P. said:
Very helpful.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 3, 2013,  Kelli J. said:
Thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 31, 2013Allyson Echols (TpT Seller) said:
Used it with my daughter, she enjoyed it.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 28, 2013,  Jessica R. said:
thanks
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 28, 2013,  Kayla H. said:
Great summer packet! I send bits and pieces home at the end of the year! Thanks for putting this together!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 28, 2013,  Buyer said:
Thanks for all your hard work! This was great to send home with my kids at the end of the year. Parents really liked it.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 28, 2013,  Buyer said:
This was great to send home for the summer!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 26, 2013,  Gretchen P. said:
Love this! Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 25, 2013,  Rhonda M. said:
Great Product
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

n/a
On  March 24, 2013,  Buyer asked:
Do you have a "On my way to Kindergarten" packet for Pre-K that you made up similar to what Veronicalyoung asked? I'd love to get that packet!
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  March 24, 2013Mary Lirette answered:
It is in the works but I never finished it. I'll try and make it a priority over the next few weeks. Hopefully I can get it done soon! Would you mind emailing me a list of skills you would like covered? Mary.lirette@yahoo.com
n/a
On  May 28, 2012,  Terry Y. asked:
On page 10 of your summer kinder packet, I am wondering how the correct sentence should read. I am a little mixed up.
THYordan@aol.com
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  May 28, 2012Mary Lirette answered:
The student should fix the sentence "We have for pet bugs" by changing "for" to "four" and adding a period. I hope that clears it up for you! Thanks for asking. :)
n/a
On  April 23, 2012,  Veronica D. asked:
Do you have a "On My Way to Kindergarten" packet for Pre-K students?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  April 23, 2012Mary Lirette answered:
Hi there! If you e-mail me some of the key things you would like included in the packet I would be happy to create one for you this week! I had another request for a preK one as well. :) Thanks! mary.lirette@yahoo.com
$8.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (2,726 Followers)
$8.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
On My Way to 1st Grade! {Kindergarten Review Practice Packet}
On My Way to 1st Grade! {Kindergarten Review Practice Packet}
On My Way to 1st Grade! {Kindergarten Review Practice Packet}
On My Way to 1st Grade! {Kindergarten Review Practice Packet}