Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Opinion Persuasive Writing- Oreo Style!

Grade Levels
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
1.8 MB   |   23 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

A mini-unit designed to introduce students to opinion/persuasive writing!

Using the Oreo- opinion, reasons, explanations, opinion restated- acronym, students will learn how to write a stuffed persuasive paragraph.

This mini-unit allows for mini-lessons on opinion/ persuasive writing elements as well as shared writing and modeling of brainstorming and drafting.

A writing prompt is included that allows students to choose their own topic for writing their very own opinion/ persuasive paragraph!

Contents:

* Instructional procedures
*Graphic organizer- “What is persuasive writing?”
*“Positively Persuasive”/ "Positively Opinionated"- mini-lesson poster
*OREO acronym- opinion, reasons, examples and explanations, opinion restated
*Graphic organizer for brainstorming shared writing
*Shared writing paper
*Recording paper for brainstorming topics
*Writing prompt
*Transitions mini-lesson poster
*Forms of persuasive writing mini-lesson poster
*Scoring rubric
*Examples and explanations mini-lesson posters
*Audience mini-lesson poster
*Revision checklist
*Editing checklist
*Craftivity for publishing paragraph

Enjoy!
Total Pages
23
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
1 Week

Average Ratings

3.9
Overall Quality:
3.9
Accuracy:
3.9
Practicality:
3.9
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
3.9
Clarity:
3.9
Total:
71 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 3, 2013,  Sara C. said:
The OREO idea is super easy for the students to understand. Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 21, 2013,  Jan L. said:
Students loved the oreo theme!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 19, 2013,  Buyer said:
Loved this opinion writing packet! OREO and baking really made teaching opinion writing a bit easier! Students really enjoyed the baking theme!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 18, 2013,  Buyer said:
This worked wonderfully! I told my co-worker about it and she ran out and got herself a copy. Her kids loved it, too!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 30, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great for my students.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 30, 2014,  Wendy K. said:
Helped in my planning! Thank you!
n/a
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  March 16, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great writing resource
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 10, 2014,  Christina N. said:
I love this! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 4, 2014,  Kristi B. said:
So much fun!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 27, 2014,  Buyer said:
Love it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 25, 2014,  Buyer said:
Students love this theme and can really relate to it and understand.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 23, 2014,  Sandra B. said:
This is an amazing unit. My kids really get it with this Oreo activity. I will be using this for many years. Thank you.
On  January 23, 2014TeacherMomof3 answered:
You made my day with your sweet comments! I am so happy that you were pleased with this product and that students enjoyed it and learned from it. This is what it is all about for me! :-) Lauren
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 9, 2014,  Luanne A. said:
I will enjoy this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 5, 2014,  Aimee F. said:
Awesome resource
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 29, 2013First Grade's for Sharing (TpT Seller) said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 6, 2013,  Buyer said:
:)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 1, 2013,  Buyer said:
Awesome. Many Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 5, 2013,  Erin B. said:
ADORABLE! Thanks
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  July 31, 2013Diana Deatherage (TpT Seller) said:
Thanks
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 1, 2013Michelle Carravallah (TpT Seller) said:
LOVED this unit! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 25, 2013,  Amanda M. said:
Awesome resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 2, 2013,  Buyer said:
Another great way to get kids to use persuasive writing.
3.0
Total:
3.0
Overall Quality:
3.0
Accuracy:
3.0
Practicality:
3.0
Thoroughness:
3.0
Creativity:
3.0
Clarity:
On  April 9, 2013Cherry Grove (TpT Seller) said:
Good activities, but your cookies aren't Oreo.
Confusing to my students.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 30, 2013Gracie Brown (TpT Seller) said:
Can't wait to try it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 22, 2013,  Sara B. said:
This was helpful in teaching persuasive writing; great visuals:)!

~Sara
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 8, 2013Monica McHugh (TpT Seller) said:
Great Resource!
n/a
3.9
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 24, 2013,  Buyer said:
Wonderful!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 18, 2013Teressa Todd (TpT Seller) said:
Excellent resource. Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 10, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great!
n/a
3.8
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 6, 2013,  Kathy S. said:
Thanks
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 3, 2013Christine Todd (TpT Seller) said:
The kids are going to LOVE this.....might even bring oreos in for the class to eat while writing
On  February 3, 2013TeacherMomof3 answered:
Yes! I brought in double-stuffed ones to inspire them write "double-stuffed" paragraphs. Thanks so much for your purchase!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 30, 2013,  Gregory S. said:
Great resource!
n/a
3.8
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  January 27, 2013,  Allison M. said:
My kids loved the Oreo analogy.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 25, 2013Kelly Lincoln (TpT Seller) said:
I am excited to use this unit with my class! Thank you for your creativity and for sharing! I'm sure the kids will love it :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 13, 2013,  Buyer said:
Very helpful! Thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 12, 2013Shelley Smith (TpT Seller) said:
This was a fantastic opinion writing unit.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 8, 2013Amanda Allgood (TpT Seller) said:
Great product
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 4, 2013,  Buyer said:
Can't wait to use this lesson.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 1, 2013,  Buyer said:
My kids absolutely loved this lesson. They got to eat the cookies and it really helped them to think about what they were writing.
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 30, 2012Haley Lilley (TpT Seller) said:
Really gets the ball rolling for persuasive writing! I just wish it was a tad longer.
n/a
3.0
Total:
3.0
Overall Quality:
3.0
Accuracy:
3.0
Practicality:
3.0
Thoroughness:
3.0
Creativity:
3.0
Clarity:
On  December 5, 2012,  Shelley P. said:
Cute, but wish she had used the academic vocab from CCSS instead of calling them smoothy words. I can't use that page in my room because my principal will ding me for not having the correct vocab that supports ccss. Love this though and am going to use it in my room. I'd love to know how you taught the "Opinion Writing" page and the language that you used when introducing the topic.
On  December 5, 2012TeacherMomof3 answered:
Hi, thank you for your purchase! Please contact me at teachermomof3@comcast.net with the specific word(s) you would like in place of smoothy words. I can then edit the file and you can download it again for free. I want you to be able to use all the pages and am happy to make the changes. I can also give you more specifics on how I taught this lesson. Thanks so much! Lauren
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 25, 2012Jamie Sears (TpT Seller) said:
This is awesome! My kids love Oreo writing!!!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 20, 2012Margo Melson (TpT Seller) said:
I love this - worked great with my class - thank you so much for making the packet persuasive and opinion!
On  November 21, 2012TeacherMomof3 answered:
You are quite welcome, Margo! I was glad to revise it for you! So glad the unit went well with your class! :-)
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 19, 2012,  Patricia C. said:
I can't wait to use these ideas in teaching my second graders about opinion writing. Thanks for your hard work!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 17, 2012,  Buyer said:
This was so cute and fun! My kids really liked it!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 15, 2012Amy Smith (TpT Seller) said:
Great resource for my second graders!
n/a
3.9
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 8, 2012,  Buyer said:
I think this will be a great way to introduce this writing and move on to something more involved in 4th grade. Thanks
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 7, 2012Jan Dillenbeck (TpT Seller) said:
GREAT visual for my students. I really like the flow of the lesson for teaching this subject. Thanks for sharing!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 4, 2012,  Buyer said:
Well organized. Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 26, 2012,  Sharon B. said:
great
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

On  October 30, 2012Margo Melson (TpT Seller) asked:
Hello! I love this unit - is it possible to make a slight change for me? Instead of saying persuasive writing would you be able to make it say opinion writing? With the common core standards we are using opinion instead of persuasive.

Thank you,

Margo Melson
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  October 30, 2012TeacherMomof3 answered:
Hi Margo- No problem at all! I revised the packet to include duplicate slides for some pages so that one page will use the terminology persuasive and the other will include opinion. I also updated the preview file and thumbnail images which illustrate this change. Thanks so much for your interest and for your suggestion! :-) Lauren
$4.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (855 Followers)
$4.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Opinion Persuasive Writing-  Oreo  Style!
Opinion Persuasive Writing-  Oreo  Style!
Opinion Persuasive Writing-  Oreo  Style!
Opinion Persuasive Writing-  Oreo  Style!