Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Opinion Writing: Farm Animals

Opinion Writing: Farm Animals
Opinion Writing: Farm Animals
Opinion Writing: Farm Animals
Opinion Writing: Farm Animals
Grade Levels
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
0.92 MB   |   7 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

This activity is connected to CCGPS ELACCKW1: Use a combination of drawing, dictating, and writing to compose opinion pieces in which they tell a reader the topic or the name of the book they are "writing" about and state an opinion or preference about the topic or book. The topic for this opinion writing packet is "farm animals." These opinion writing activities are great to put in a writing center for students to choose which pictures to use to give their opinions about. This pack includes a title page and 6 pages with each page containing picture choices of two farm animals. The six pages include: rabbit/chick, cow/horse, goat/pig, sheep/rooster, duck/hen, and goose/turkey. Each page includes two picture choices for students to choose between to tell which they think is the best. Each page says “In my opinion (it shows the two picture choices) _____are the best because…,” then it has six blank lines for students to write on to tell why they think their choice is the best. Students love telling which item they like the best. This activity encourages students to give the reason why they think their choice is the best. Teachers can also use these writing activities as a whole class activity. Assigning these activities for a homework assignment can include parents in helping increase their child’s writing skills. However you choose to use these activities, I hope your students develop a love for writing.

ELACCKW1
ELACCKW2
Clip Art from mycutegraphics and Clker.com

Total Pages
7
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
N/A

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
10 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  Buyer said:
Thanks
On  April 13, 2014Sherry Clements answered:
You are welcome! I hope your students enjoy writing about the farm animals. I appreciate your feedback and your purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 10, 2014Angela Richard (TpT Seller) said:
Thank you for the creative and useful opinion writing topics.

The price is amazing too!
On  April 11, 2014Sherry Clements answered:
You are welcome Angela! I'm glad you found this opinion writing pack to be useful and reasonably priced also. Thank you so much for your feedback and your purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 10, 2014,  Elizabeth G. said:
Great resource for primary CC opinion writing!
On  April 11, 2014Sherry Clements answered:
Thank you Elizabeth! I'm glad you found this opinion writing pack to be a great resource. I appreciate your feedback and your purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 4, 2014,  Meagan T. said:
Thanks!
On  April 4, 2014Sherry Clements answered:
You are welcome Meagan! I hope your students enjoy writing about these farm animals. I appreciate your feedback and your purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 6, 2014,  Carolina A. said:
This is an awesome activity because it makes opinion writing relate to the students prior knowledge and they get to share their ideas about farm animals.
On  March 6, 2014Sherry Clements answered:
Thank you so much Carolina! I am glad you thought this was an awesome activity. Students do have to gain knowledge about each animal in order to write their opinion about the animals. If they do not have prior knowledge, reading nonfiction texts for each animal and then maybe making charts with information about each animal helps them connect with the information needed. I appreciate your wonderful feedback and purchases.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 21, 2014,  Carla F. said:
Great start for students beginning to write opinions. Thanks!
On  January 21, 2014Sherry Clements answered:
You are welcome! I hope your students enjoy opinion writing while writing about farm animals. Thank you so much for your feedback and purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 23, 2013,  Jan S. said:
Thank you! Now my lovelies have lots to choose from. Great scaffold to get them started.
On  November 23, 2013Sherry Clements answered:
You are welcome! I hope your students enjoy writing their opinions about these farm animals. I have many more topics for opinion writing available. Thank you so much for your feedback and purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 19, 2013,  Buyer said:
Perfect!
On  November 19, 2013Sherry Clements answered:
Great! I hope your students enjoy writing their opinions about farm animals. Students love telling why it is their favorite. Thank you so much for your feedback and purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 6, 2013Tamara Munson (TpT Seller) said:
very helpful
thanks so much
On  September 6, 2013Sherry Clements answered:
I hope your students enjoyed writing their opinions about farm animals. Thank you so much for your feedback and for your purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 3, 2013,  Robin H. said:
This is great for the new common core writing expectations! Thank you!!
On  April 4, 2013Sherry Clements answered:
Great! I'm glad you found it useful. Thank you for your feedback and purchase.
Teachers Pay Teachers
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

n/a
On  November 26, 2013,  Buyer asked:
do you have a pack with a variety of prompts like this?
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  November 27, 2013Sherry Clements answered:
I have a variety pack, but it doesn't include pictures. It only includes prompts (open ended). Here is the link if you'd like to look at it.
http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Opinion-Writing-Packet-Kindergarten-1st-grade-2nd-grade--537012

I have several different opinion writing packs like the farm animal one. Each one is a different theme such as food, clothing, ocean animals, colors, fruits, insects, places to go (settings), toys, sports, snacks, and sweets, just to name a few.

Thanks for asking. I hope you find what you are looking for.
$1.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (586 Followers)
$1.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Opinion Writing: Farm Animals
Opinion Writing: Farm Animals
Opinion Writing: Farm Animals
Opinion Writing: Farm Animals