Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Opinion Writing Unit {Let's Write an Opinion!}

Grade Levels
Resource Types
Common Core Standards
W.1.1
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
3.55 MB   |   45 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Opinion writing for primary grades! This common core aligned writing unit was made with first grade in mind, but also can fit the needs of kindergarten and second grade classrooms. Please download the preview to see if you can use it in your classroom!

Save $3.50 when you bundle!
If you like this writing unit, take a look at my {Common Core Writing Bundle!} which includes this unit along with my personal narrative and informative writing units for a Reduced Price!

Help your students tackle the opinion writing standard with this easy-to-use writing packet!

In this unit:
- 3 different student posters to help define {opinion, fact, and persuade}
- Fact/opinion sorts for students to practice identifying opinions
- Would you rather? class game to help students give reasons for their opinions
- A variety of writing prompts with graphic organizers
- Six different persuasive letter prompts - 3 letters to your principal and 3 to your parents
-Grading rubric

Enjoy!
Total Pages
45
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
N/A

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
606 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 10, 2013,  Buyer said:
This is such a thorough unit that can honestly be used through out the entire school year to teach persuasive writing. I love the design, ideas and fonts. Thank you so much! You've just made my life so much easier.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 23, 2014,  Buyer said:
Thank you so much! Very helpful!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 22, 2014,  Stacy G. said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 22, 2014,  Buyer said:
Perfect!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 21, 2014,  Lindsay M. said:
Awesome packet! Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 21, 2014,  Dana H. said:
fun ideas
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 21, 2014Lori Ritter (TpT Seller) said:
Thank you for your hard work! This is an excellent resource!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 21, 2014Laurie Ferguson (TpT Seller) said:
Fantastic! Used so many of these cute sheets with my K students.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 21, 2014,  April R. said:
Thanks
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 20, 2014,  Jean N. said:
Outstanding!!!!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 19, 2014Candice Garrison (TpT Seller) said:
Really love all the ideas! Looking forward to using each.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 19, 2014Marie Ottinger (TpT Seller) said:
Great resource! Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 17, 2014,  Ellen W. said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 16, 2014,  Sarah K. said:
Love this!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 15, 2014little rew (TpT Seller) said:
love this
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 15, 2014,  Ashton V. said:
Such a great resource. It has been very helpful in my writing block! :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 15, 2014,  Buyer said:
Awesome resource
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Carissa E. said:
This opinion packet had so many great resources! I have already used many of the writing prompts, sorts, graphic organizers and writing pages in my classroom.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Alison J. said:
Thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Kelley J. said:
love it, thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Buyer said:
Loved this whole packet. It was perfect for our opinion unit. Easily adaptable for 2nd Graders. I liked the blank templates as well.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Tracy P. said:
Great ideas!!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014Kaitlyn Gray (TpT Seller) said:
Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Mariah H. said:
great resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 14, 2014,  Buyer said:
A wonderful, very useful resource. Thanks.
n/a
N/A
Total:
N/A
Overall Quality:
N/A
Accuracy:
N/A
Practicality:
N/A
Thoroughness:
N/A
Creativity:
N/A
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  Anne A. said:
Cant wait to use this. Looks great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  Lindsey B. said:
Thank you!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  ANN MARIE R. said:
love it! thank you
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  Dena T. said:
My kids LOVE this product, especially the would you rather cards. It's fascinating to see some of the reasons they come up with. Thank you!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 12, 2014Kelsey Sparks (TpT Seller) said:
THank you! Love it!!!!!!!!!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 11, 2014,  Bobbi K M. said:
This unit made teaching Opinion Writing easier. Thank you!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 11, 2014Jessica Tobin  (TpT Seller) said:
Incredible work! Made teaching opinion fun for the kids and easy for the teacher!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 10, 2014Success in Second (TpT Seller) said:
Great resource for teaching opinion writing!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 9, 2014,  Buyer said:
This is fabulous! Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 9, 2014,  Buyer said:
Looks awesome
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 8, 2014,  Lori S. said:
Thank you! Great ideas!
n/a
3.5
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
3.5
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
3.5
Clarity:
On  April 8, 2014,  Cheri C. said:
Awesome! I can't wait to use them--thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 8, 2014,  Raquel G. said:
Thank you so much. I'm using it now and I love it!
This was a great purchase.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 7, 2014,  Renee S. said:
I'm excited to try this out after spring break. It will be our last writing unit.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 6, 2014,  Christine Z. said:
This was a great unit!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 6, 2014,  Melissa J. said:
just what I was looking for!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 6, 2014,  Meg B. said:
Thanks!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 6, 2014,  Buyer said:
Outstanding product! Thanks for sharing:)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 5, 2014,  Buyer said:
A great variety of activities to help teach opinion writing. They will all be used!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 5, 2014,  Leona R. said:
This has been really helpful for teaching how to write an opinion. The cards were a great activity to do before starting the writing.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 4, 2014,  Lisa D. said:
Thank you! This is perfect for our class.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 4, 2014,  Angela H. said:
This was so easy to use and my students loved writing their opinion about different topics.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 4, 2014,  Amanda S. said:
This was amazing! This unit not only had something for every aspect of opinion writing, but also gave me great ideas to go off of on my own!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 3, 2014,  Donna M. said:
Fantastic resource! Works well with my 2nd graders that are struggling with the concepts of fact and opinion.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 3, 2014Tracy Wilson (TpT Seller) said:
Awesome resource and ideas!
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers

On  February 27, 2014FancyFirstie (TpT Seller) asked:
Is there any type of scope and sequence for the unit or lesson plans with this? Thanks!
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  March 14, 2014Susan Jones - TGIF answered:
Hi FancyFirstie!

So sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you - life has been crazy! There isn't a typed up, laid out scope for you in this unit. However, I set up the unit to go in the order I would teach it. Starting with the first activity and then to the next, so on, so forth.

I hope that helps!
n/a
On  May 13, 2013,  Susan K. asked:
Hi Susan,
I've purchased your "opinion" unit and LOVE it....
Could you possibly send a blank...or editable... page 9 ???
I have 22 kids...and I'd like each to have a chance to ponder out their own "fact" or "opinion"... and you've included 14 great ones.... but I need 8 more.
Thanks!
Susan King
Teachers Pay Teachers
On  May 13, 2013Susan Jones - TGIF answered:
Hi Susan, if you will email me (smoran892@gmail.com) I will see what I can do!

Thank you :)
$4.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (4,042 Followers)
$4.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Opinion Writing Unit {Let's Write an Opinion!}
Opinion Writing Unit {Let's Write an Opinion!}
Opinion Writing Unit {Let's Write an Opinion!}
Opinion Writing Unit {Let's Write an Opinion!}