Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Science Property Words - Not Opinions!

Resource Types
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
0.59 MB   |   4 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

It is science class, and again your students are using words like yucky, nasty, ugly and smelly to describe an object. Since these are opinions and NOT property words, these words will not work. This four page handout deals with science property words which can easily be copied as a reference guide for your students.

The first page is a chart which can be enlarged and laminated for your classroom. It is a quick reference to aid the students in using correct property words. (I recommend that you copy this page for your students' science folders.)

The next three pages of property words are divided by the five senses, smell, taste, feel, sight, and sound. Other qualitative as well as quantitative property words are included. Non-science property words are also referred to since they are not characteristics of an object. Many times, I also copy these three pages for my students to place in their science folders.

You might also like these science resources:

Leaf Investigation

Ice Investigation

Science Investigation Rubric for Grades 4-8

Science Investigation Rubric for the Primary Grades
Total Pages
4
Answer Key
Does Not Apply
Teaching Duration
N/A

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
14 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 18, 2014,  Colleen P. said:
Thanks!
On  March 18, 2014Scipi answered:
Colleen - Thank you for leaving a comment.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 11, 2014,  Eileen D. said:
Very useful!
On  March 12, 2014Scipi answered:
Eileen - Thanks for your feedback.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 3, 2013,  Bethany B. said:
This is great .. thanks!
On  December 3, 2013Scipi answered:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about this science resource.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
N/A
Accuracy:
N/A
Practicality:
N/A
Thoroughness:
N/A
Creativity:
N/A
Clarity:
On  November 17, 2013,  Buyer said:
This is great!
On  November 17, 2013Scipi answered:
Pam - Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback about this item.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 26, 2013,  Danielle D. said:
I love this! Thanks!
On  August 26, 2013Scipi answered:
Danielle - I am so-o-o-o glad. I hope this will help when students go to describe things scientifically.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 4, 2013,  Anna S. said:
This is a fantastic resource. I can't wait to use it with my students. Thank you.
On  May 4, 2013Scipi answered:
Anna - Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on this resource.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 3, 2013,  Lisa C. said:
I use this in my 5th grade classroom and they love it!
On  January 4, 2013Scipi answered:
I am so glad this is a useful tool for your classroom.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 21, 2012,  Nancy G. said:
What a great resource for their science folders.
Thanks!
On  November 21, 2012Scipi answered:
This is exactly how my husband uses it! He teaches 8th grade science.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 16, 2012,  Buyer said:
Great
On  October 17, 2012Scipi answered:
I appreciate your positive input.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 20, 2012,  Shanda B. said:
Thank you!
On  September 21, 2012Scipi answered:
This is such a popular product for science. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 26, 2012,  Peggy A. said:
I love this. 7th graders are often at a loss for good descriptive words for labs. This will become part of their science notebook- a resource page.
On  August 26, 2012Scipi answered:
My husband teaches 8th grade science, and he does the very same thing. Thank you for taking the time to rate this product.
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 30, 2012,  Amy G. said:
I teach the early learner on the spectrum, and find thee words to be a great tool for learning it right the first time on scientific write ups! They do not have the depth in their linguistics yet to always come up with "true" property words. However in reading we spend a great deal of time on fact and opinion, so these integrate beautifully!
On  January 30, 2012Scipi answered:
I am so glad that you will be able to use the property words. I made the one into a large poster that I hung in my classroom, and then I copied the blackline that the students kept in a folder in their desks.
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 20, 2011Science Rules (TpT Seller) said:
I think this is a wonderful way to introduce Valid vs. non-valid (or opinion) in science and scientific writing. I am delighted to find a way to provide the students with the tools they need to develop these skills. Thank you for the this work--I am using it for my 7th grade life science students along with samples of a variety of living materials (mostly from plants) for them to describe.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 17, 2011,  Buyer said:
I teach eighth grade Science. I have taken the Science Property words and enlarged them to post in several places in my room. They have proven to be a real asset to the students who are descripter deficit or linguistically challenged. Instead of a generic answer, I am getting more specific descriptions. This is a great resource.
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers


Be the first to ask Scipi a question about this product. Please log in to do that.

$2.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (1,085 Followers)
$2.50
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Science Property Words - Not Opinions!
Science Property Words - Not Opinions!
Science Property Words - Not Opinions!
Science Property Words - Not Opinions!