Not a member? Join for FREE
Home

Writing Opinion Paragraphs ~ The Four Seasons {Common Core}

Grade Levels
Common Core Standards
W.2.1, W.2.5, W.3.1, W.3.4, W.3.5
Product Rating
Teachers Pay Teachers
PDF (Acrobat) Document File
Be sure that you have an application to open this file type before downloading and/or purchasing.
5.3 MB   |   67 pages

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

Opinion Writing: This writing packet is a great back-to-school project to introduce students to opinion paragraph writing. Students will love starting off the school year by expressing their opinions about why they like summer. Then they'll write what they like about the other seasons to make a really cute four seasons booklet.

It includes:

~opinion writing anchor chart / poster
~multi-day lesson plans
~literature connections
~Fan-N-Pick cards and brainstorming activity
~four seasons brainstorming web
~plural nouns mini-lesson and poster
~graphic organizer
~example filled-in graphic organizer
~example rough draft
~example revised draft
~example draft for editing
~editing poster
~holistic grading rubric
~various publishing pages for each season
~compare/contrast post-writing activity

This opinion writing project is aligned with CCSS for 2nd and 3rd grades. (W.2.1, W.2.5, W.3.1, W.3.4, W.3.5)

Back to School Activity Pack ~ Getting to Know You

My Summer ~ A Writing Project for the Beginning or End of the School Year {Common Core}

Informative Writing Project for Primary Grades {Common Core}

Narrative Story Writing Project ~ 2nd & 3rd Grades {Common Core}

Writing Informative Paragraphs ~ Five Great Things About Me {Common Core}

Writing Opinion Paragraphs ~ All the Best! {Common Core}

Creative Chapter Book Questions ~ for Reading Groups or Workshop

Informative Writing ~ U.S.A. Symbols Research Project {Common Core}

Intermediate Writing Bundle ~ Opinion, Narrative, & Informative Research {Common Core}

Informative Writing ~ Ecosystems Research Project {Common Core}

Happy Writing!
Lisa Lilienthal

**Feel free to email me at: lisa.m.lilienthal@gmail.com**

Graphics by Whimsyworkshop.blogspot.ca
Total Pages
67
Answer Key
N/A
Teaching Duration
2 Weeks

Average Ratings

4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
4.0
Total:
40 ratings

Comments & Ratings

n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 25, 2013,  Janet S. said:
LOVE this! What a fun way to teaching opinion writing! Can't wait to use this. :)
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 15, 2013,  Nichole L. said:
Absolutely LOVE this! Can't wait to use it with my kiddos!! :)
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 7, 2013Teaching Metamorphosis (TpT Seller) said:
A very concise product. I especially love the fact that I can just about use it as is. The minimal prep work is awesome.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 4, 2013,  Molly F. said:
Went along well with my weather unit and got my class started on opinion writing.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 13, 2014,  Tonya M. said:
One of the best!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 9, 2014,  Buyer said:
Very useful in teaching opinion writing
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 18, 2014,  Buyer said:
Great for teaching opinion writing. Thanks!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 15, 2014Andrea Cox (TpT Seller) said:
Nice and useful materials
Andrea
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 10, 2014,  Buyer said:
Lots of good stuff!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 28, 2014Annette Pagel (TpT Seller) said:
Great resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 26, 2014,  Jennifer L. said:
Great way to incorporate writing into our season unit. Thank you!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 25, 2014,  Melinda C. said:
Love this.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 13, 2014,  Christine S. said:
This is a wonderful resource for teaching opinion writing!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 22, 2014,  Michelle A. said:
Thank you!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 18, 2014,  Laura M. said:
Absolutely terrific!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 6, 2014,  Buyer said:
Looking forward to using this with both my grade one and grade two students. It looks awesome!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 5, 2014,  Buyer said:
Excellent!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 3, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great Resource!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  December 2, 2013,  Buyer said:
Thank you for another great writing resource.
n/a
N/A
Total:
N/A
Overall Quality:
N/A
Accuracy:
N/A
Practicality:
N/A
Thoroughness:
N/A
Creativity:
N/A
Clarity:
On  November 6, 2013,  Kimberly A P. said:
Good companion to the other unit.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 1, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great resource. Would like to have a generic graphic organizer to use with other opinion paragraphs as well.
On  November 1, 2013Lisa Lilienthal answered:
I usually do include extra blank organizers, but I must have overlooked it with this unit. So sorry! I have now added two blank organizers to the end of the unit. Just redownload the file. Thank you so much for your business and your feedback!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  October 15, 2013,  Buyer said:
Great!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 25, 2013,  Brooke S. said:
thanks!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 22, 2013,  Buyer said:
Wasn't sure where to start with opinion writing, so this will be a big help. My students will enjoy!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 7, 2013,  Clora S. said:
Looking forward to using this!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  September 3, 2013,  Lynette J. said:
Great lesson ideas for opinion writing! Can't wait to use this.
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  August 20, 2013,  Haley G. said:
I'm running out of ways to tell you that I love your products! Thanks again :)
On  August 20, 2013Lisa Lilienthal answered:
Haley, I appreciate your business so much! Thank you!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 24, 2013,  Theresa V. said:
Excellent !!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  July 19, 2013,  Buyer said:
Kids WILL write better1!!
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  June 30, 2013Tracy Owens (TpT Seller) said:
Thank you
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 13, 2013,  Kelly W. said:
Liked it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  May 8, 2013,  Buyer said:
Love the activity. Can't wait to use it!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  April 1, 2013,  Buyer said:
I just downloaded this unit and am getting it ready to implement. Looks really great, I especially like the fan-n-pick cards. Thank you.
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  March 5, 2013Ariel Pierson (TpT Seller) said:
Awesome!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 11, 2013,  Claire M. said:
great....aligns with common core
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 3, 2013,  Cindy W. said:
This will make my life much easier! It looks great!!
n/a
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  February 3, 2013,  ML R. said:
Loved it! Made my life a lot easier! Would use this seller again!
n/a
3.8
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
3.5
Practicality:
3.5
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  January 30, 2013,  Buyer said:
This was great, a little advanced for my class, but I took parts of this and made it our own. Great organizers!
On  January 30, 2013Lisa Lilienthal answered:
Thank you so much for your honest feedback! I really appreciate it! I used this unit with second graders. Upon reflection, I think that this unit might be too advanced for many first graders, so I'm going to change the suggested grade levels. Thanks again!
Teachers Pay Teachers
N/A
Total:
N/A
Overall Quality:
N/A
Accuracy:
N/A
Practicality:
N/A
Thoroughness:
N/A
Creativity:
N/A
Clarity:
On  November 28, 2012Rebecca Dunn (TpT Seller) said:
good
On  November 28, 2012Lisa Lilienthal answered:
I hope you enjoy this unit. My students are currently working it and their projects look great! I was wondering if there was anything specific you think I could improve on with this unit.
Teachers Pay Teachers
4.0
Total:
4.0
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
4.0
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 26, 2012diana Smyth (TpT Seller) said:
Perfect thanks!!!
On  November 28, 2012Lisa Lilienthal answered:
I'm so glad! This unit is a favorite of mine!
Teachers Pay Teachers
n/a
3.8
Total:
3.5
Overall Quality:
4.0
Accuracy:
4.0
Practicality:
4.0
Thoroughness:
3.5
Creativity:
4.0
Clarity:
On  November 26, 2012,  Mary Kay T. said:
It's nice to have it aligned with the common core.
On  November 26, 2012Lisa Lilienthal answered:
Thank you for your feedback! I hope you enjoy this packet. I'm in the process of teaching this unit to my 2nd graders right now. They're loving it, and I am too!
Teachers Pay Teachers
Please log in to post a question.

Product Questions & Answers


Be the first to ask Lisa Lilienthal a question about this product. Please log in to do that.

$5.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
User Rating: 4.0/4.0
 (2,036 Followers)
$5.00
Digital Download
ADD ONE TO CART
Writing Opinion Paragraphs  ~ The Four Seasons {Common Core}
Writing Opinion Paragraphs  ~ The Four Seasons {Common Core}
Writing Opinion Paragraphs  ~ The Four Seasons {Common Core}
Writing Opinion Paragraphs  ~ The Four Seasons {Common Core}