Retelling: Comprehension Strategy By Kim Adsit and Kimberly Jordano

Kim Adsit
Grade Levels
PreK - 1st
Formats Included
  • PDF
99 pages
Share this resource
Kim Adsit


This unit contains the pieces to retell 10 popular Children’s stories. There are three sections. The first section looks at the setting. Through the retelling, the children learn that settings can change. They also learn that by sequencing these settings, they can retell the stories. The second section explores characters. Like settings, children learn to sequence characters to retell. The final section helps children identify book patterns. Children learn that by identifying patterns, we can retell. There are also the pieces for “Old Lady Who Swallowed Some Books”, a freebee also available in my store.

Settings Can Change:

• Itsy Bitsy Spider

• The Three Pigs

• The Snowy Day

Sequencing Characters to Retell:

• Brown Bear, Brown Bear

• Chicken Little

• The 3 Billy Goats Gruff

• The Napping House

Books Have Patterns:

• Old Lady Who Swallowed Some Books (Bonus Extra Set)

• Old Lady Who Swallowed a Pie

• Mrs. Wishy Washy

• 1, 2 Buckle My Shoe

Total Pages
99 pages
Answer Key
Teaching Duration
Report this Resource to TpT
Reported resources will be reviewed by our team. Report this resource to let us know if this resource violates TpT’s content guidelines.


Questions & Answers


Teachers Pay Teachers is an online marketplace where teachers buy and sell original educational materials.

More About Us

Keep in Touch!

Sign Up