SL Book Unit: The Giver - FREE Curriculum for Chapters 1-4

Grade Levels
7th - 11th
Formats Included
  • PDF
10 pages


The Giver by Lois Lowry can be taught at two completely different grade levels.

1) Seventh- and eighth-grade: Appropriate reading level and main character identification.

2) Tenth- and eleventh-grade: Exploration of concepts such as community vs. individual rights, how wisdom is gained through pain, and what an individual is willing to risk to attain freedom.

Is it right for your class? Download this file for Chapters 1, 2, 3, and 4. See if it will work for your students! I hope you will purchase the full curriculum if it does! (You can find the full curriculum at http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/SL-Book-Unit-The-Giver-Curriculum-1366387 .)

Included in this free resource for Chapters 1-4 of The Giver Curriculum:

Study guide questions
Deeper-level thinking discussion questions
Dictionary page
Match game
Reading comprehension quiz

(The interactive games that can be projected on a screen at the front of the classroom and played by the class are only found in the paid version. The full curriculum is over 150 pages in length.)

The Giver Curriculum has been set up to help teach The Giver, but also help teachers align their curricula to meet common core standards for their grade level.

For this file and the games in it to work well, use the FREE Adobe Acrobat Reader. Download it at http://get.adobe.com/reader .

Copyrighted (C) 2014 by S. Kay Seifert. All rights reserved.
Total Pages
10 pages
Answer Key
Teaching Duration
2 days
Report this Resource to TpT
Reported resources will be reviewed by our team. Report this resource to let us know if this resource violates TpT’s content guidelines.


Questions & Answers

Teachers Pay Teachers is an online marketplace where teachers buy and sell original educational materials.

More About Us

Keep in Touch!

Sign Up